Nunney, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Nunney, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nunney, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Frome
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Frome PLU
Registration District Frome
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NUNNEY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union and hundred of Frome, E. division of Somerset, 2¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Frome, containing the hamlet of Trudox-Hill. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nunney, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Nunney, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1547-1913

1551-1913

1608-1639, 1810-1911

FS 1813-1900 1754-1901 1813-1900
JOIN

1556-1837


MARR
1547-1754

NBI



1624-1904

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474597.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Nunney/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 461-463. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,299 times.