Nuthurst, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Nuthurst, Sussex
Nuthurst St Andrew West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Singlecross
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Horsham PLU
Registration District Horsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NUTHURST (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Horsham, hundred of Singlecross, rape of Bramber, West division of Sussex, 3¾ miles South South East from Horsham. The road from Horsham to Worthing runs through the parish on the east. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Nuthurst St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the village and civil parish of Nuthurst in the Horsham district of West Sussex. Other hamlets within the Anglican Ancient Parish include Maplehurst, Mannings Heath, Copsale, Monks Gate and Sedgwick.

The history of St Andrew and Good Shepherd Mannings Heath are found at Sussex Parish Churches Nuthurst St Andrew

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) includes places of worship

Congregational Mission Chapel, Maplehurst dates from 1893 Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
The Good Shepherd, Mannings Heath Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and Good Shepherd Mannings Heath history
Wesleyan Chapel, Manning's Heath dates from 1809 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also Mannings Heath Wikipedia

Church of the Holy Nativity see List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Nuthurst, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Nuthurst, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1562-1869
1562-1869

IGI 1840-1869
PRTS 1559-1900
1562-1901
1559-1900

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Nuthurst

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

Poor Law Unions

Horsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 28 May 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 812 times.