Nutley, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Nutley, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield PLU|
|Parish registers: Not Known|
|Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
NUTLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Basingstoke, hundred of Bermondspit, Basingstoke and North divisions of the county of Southampton. Five miles South South West from the town of Basingstoke, county of Southampton. The Basingstoke canal and the South-Western railway pass through the parish.
Nutley St James the Less was formed in 1847 from Maresfield, Sussex Ancient Parish and is a parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex.
A history of the church St James the Less
Nutley St James the Less Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Other places of worship include Forest Hall, Dodds Bank Maresfield (Roman Catholic)Chapel, Nutley now demolished Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Nutley
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2015, at 20:11.
- This page has been accessed 1,430 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News