Oakamoor, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Oakamoor, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||North Totmonslow; South Totmonslow|
|Poor Law Union||Cheadle|
|Parish registers: 1832|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1835|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
OAKMOOR, or Oakamoor an ecclesiastical district, in the parishes of Alveton, Cheadle, and Kingsley, union of Cheadle, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (E. by N.) from Cheadle. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Oakamoor Holy Trinity was formed in 1833 from part of Cheadle, Staffordshire
Oakamoor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|OAKAMOOR PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 467-469. Date accessed: 01 November 2012.
- ↑ 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 03:49.
- This page has been accessed 2,089 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News