Oakford, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Oakford, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oakford, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Witheridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tiverton PLU
Registration District Tiverton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Molton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OAKFORD (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Tiverton, hundred of Witheridge, Cullompton and N. divisions of Devon, 3½ miles (W. by S.) from Bampton. This parish, which is situated on the road from Bampton to South Molton, and bounded on the east by the river Eske, comprises 4221 acres. The church was rebuilt in 1838-9. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oakford, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Oakford, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1568-1812 1568-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241328.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 463-467. Date accessed: 26 July 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 20:04.
  • This page has been accessed 600 times.