Oakland California FamilySearch Library/Class ScheduleEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Oakland FSL
Address
4766 Lincoln Avenue
Oakland, California
510-531-3905
fhcoakland@gmail.com
Hours
Tue-Wed: 10:00 am – 9 pm
Thu-Sat: 10:00 am – 4 pm
Sun-Mon: Closed
FHC Pages
Home
Contact Information
Holiday Schedule
Calendar

Boy Scout Workshop
Classes
Libraries and Societies
Resources
Catalog

Volunteer

General information

Oakland FHC training room 3.jpg
 Classes hosted by the Oakland FamilySearch Library are offered free of charge with an occasional small fee to cover the cost of handouts.  Pre-registration is required as classes may be cancelled when enrollment is insufficient. Pre-register at: fhcoakland@gmail.comor 510-531-3905.


Class and Event Schedule

Date Title Teacher # wks Time





Oct 7 Oakland 12th Ward - Faith in God

    7:00P
Oct 8 East Bay Genealogical Society
monthly    10:00A
Oct 8 Mac Users Group Workshop George monthly      7:00P
Oct 11 Boy Scout Genealogy Merit Badge Mattson monthly     3:00P
Oct 14
Family History Consultant Training Class (Intro)
Buss & Olson
     1
    7:00P
Oct 16 Piedmont retirement Community in the FSL
       1     2:30P
Oct 18 Introduction to Swedish Genealogy Online Olofson        1    10:30A
Oct 19 SFBAJGS Meeting

    12:30P
Oct 21
Family History Consultant Training Class II
Buss & Olson
     1
    7:00P
Oct 22 African American Genelaogy Workshop Ward monthly     6:00P
Oct 25
Family History Consultant Training Class (Intro)
Buss & Olson
      1
 11:00A
Oct 25 Mac Users Group Meeting George monthly     1:30P
Nov 1
Family History Consultant Training Class II
Buss & Olson
      1
  11:00A
Nov 4
Family History Consultant Training Class (Intro)
Buss & Olson
      1
   7:00P
Nov 8
Family History Consultant Training Class II
Buss & Olson
     1
  11:00A
  • SFBAJGS = San Francisco Bay Area Jewish Genealogical Society
  • AAGSNC = African American Genealogial Society of Northern California

African American Research Workshop - Instructor, Genealogist Alvis Ward Jr. - This is an ongoing free hands-on research workshop comprised of African Americans, also referred to as Black or Afro-American, or those who harmonize with Sub-Saharan Africa, with ancestry, citizenship, or residency in the United States. The workshop is an interactive exchange of research tools, methods and systems, and discussions necessary for progress at individual levels of family histories and genealogies impacted by the 16th Century removal of Africans to America as slaves. No pre-registration is required. For additional information E-Mail :nextleveldna@gmail.com Workshop will not meet during the summer but will resume in September. 

FamilySearch/FamilyTree Class for Temple Workers - Please join us for a hands-on introduction to "The other half of the blessing."  Take this opportunity to have an expert introduce you to the church's program for finding and submitting the your ancestors for the blessings of the temple. Please sign up for the class of your choice on the sign up sheet in the temple or call us at 510-531-3905 or E-mail fhcoakland@gmail.com

Family History Consultant Training Class (Intro) – Instructors, Sisters Buss and Olson, experienced genealogists and teachers serving in the Oakland FS Library. - This class will help High Priest group leaders and family history consultants become empowered to reach out to your ward and excite them to get involved in finding family stories and names to take to the temple. Consultants often ask, “What should I be doing?” We will help you answer that question. Please call or e-mail the Library to reserve your seat in one of these hands-on classes. 510-531-3905 or fhcoakland@gmail.com

Family History Consultant Training Class II. - Instructors, Sisters Buss and Olson, experienced genealogists and teachers serving in the Oakland FS Library. - The ‘To Do's and the Not To Do's of getting around the Family Search/Family Tree web site. Teaching ward members step by step how to help themselves. Please call or e-mail the Library to reserve your seat in one of these hands-on classes. 510-531-3905 or fhcoakland@gmail.com

Grandma, Who Are You?: Finding the Maiden Names in Your Family Tree - Instructor, Janice Sellers, APG - Female relatives can be difficult to trace, but they can be found. This class introduces resources for tracing the women in your family, including family items, oral histories, federal and state census records, immigration records, vital records, church records, journals, newspapers, legal and court records, library archives, and manuscript collections.

Introduction to Swedish Research using the resources at the OFSL and online. Instructor, Wade Olofson -  Find your Swedish ancestors and living relatives. Class will be from 10:30A to noon followed by a 1 hour workshop with 2 Swedish specialists.

Sourcing Makes it So! - Instructors, Sisters Buss and Olson, experienced genealogists and teachers serving in the Oakland FS Library - Learn how to make your Family Tree strong because you have added sources.

Working Your Way Around Wiki – Instructors, Sisters Buss and Olson, experienced genealogists and teachers serving in the Oakland FS Library - Learn ways that Wiki can help you find your ancestors' information.






 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 October 2014, at 02:55.
  • This page has been accessed 8,717 times.