Oakworth, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Oakworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||Keighley|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Oakworth is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1844 from Keighley Ancient Parish. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Oakworth include: Baptist, Primitive Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist
OAKWORTH, a village and a chapelry in Keighley parish, W. R. Yorkshire. There is a Wesleyan chapel here. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Oakworth, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|Oakworth, Yorkshire Genealogy Records Online|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of **Parish** to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ***Parish*** page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464270.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentionedabove.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. 1870-72. Date accessed 2 Jul 2013. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 19:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,736 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News