Obfelden parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

The parish of Obfelden became independent in 1847, both ecclesiastically and politically, from the church parish of Ottenbach.

Place Names

Locations within Obfelden

Bickwil
Dietlimatt
Gjuch
Grund
Hirschen
Kirchfeld

Ober-Lunnern
Räckholderweid
Schliffi
Tambrig
Teufi

Toussen
Unter-Lunnern
Waldheim
Weid
Wolsen

Surrounding Parishes

Affoltern am Albis
Cham (Zug)
Maschwanden
Merenschwand (Aargau)
Mettmenstetten
Ottenbach

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

See Ottenbach for census records for Obfelden.

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Obfelden families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Obfelden belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Obfelden prior to 1875:

Bär
Fischer (1853, from Tennwil)
Frei
Frick
Grob
Gut
Häberling
Huber
Meier

Nievergelt
Schneebeli
Schoch
Sigrist
Stehli
Studer
Vollenweider
Weiss
Wydler

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:38.
  • This page has been accessed 308 times.