Ocker Hill, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Ocker Hill, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ocker Hill, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Handsworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OCKER-HILL, a hamlet and a chapelry in Tipton parish, Stafford. The hamlet lies on the Walsall and Wolverhampton railway, near the Birmingham canal, 1½ mile S W of Wednesbury; and has a station on the railway . The chapelry was constituted in 1845.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Mark (Ocker Hill) ecclesiastical parish was formed on 3rd September 1845. The church at Ocker Hill opened in November 1849.


 St Mark (Ocker Hill) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]   FREG - Search under Tipton
  ST MARK (OCKER HILL)  (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1846-1900


1850-1927


Non-Conformist Churches

Ocker Hill Wesleyan Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OCKER HILL WESLEYAN CHAPEL (1841) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1841-1934





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales &st=Ocker%20Hill
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 August 2014, at 13:39.
  • This page has been accessed 969 times.