Oconee County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Oconee County, Georgia)

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Oconee County

Guide to Oconee County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records


Oconee County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Oconee County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 25, 1875
County Seat Watkinsville
Courthouse
Address Oconee County Courthouse
23 N Main Street
PO Box 1099
Watkinsville, GA 30677-2438
Phone: 706.769.3940
Oconee County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Oconee County Courthouse
23 N Main Street
PO Box 1099
Watkinsville, GA 30677-2438
Phone: 706.769.3940

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court, and land records from 1875.[1]

Beginning Dates for Oconee County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1875

History

Parent County

1875--Oconee County was created 25 February 1875 from Clarke County. County seat: Watkinsville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1887 Most of the town of Watkinsville and its courthouse burned 7 January 1887. Only the county commission records were lost.[3]

Judge R.M. Jackson and a local minister carried the rest of the courthouse records to safety during the inferno.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barrow County  • Clarke County  • Greene County  • Morgan County  • Oglethorpe County  • Walton County

Oconee CountyClarke CountyJackson CountyBarrow CountyHall CountyGwinnett CountyWalton CountyRockdale CountyNewton CountyHenry CountyButts CountyJasper CountyMorgan CountyPutnam CountyHancock CountyGreene CountyTaliaferro CountyWilkes CountyElbert CountyMadison CountyOglethorpe CountyGAOconee.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Oconee County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gaoconee.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Oconee County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Oconee County, Georgia Genealogy:



- 57th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)


  • Georgia. Superior Court (Oconee County). 1966. Military records; discharge records, 1922-1966, and Confederate roster, 1862. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah.  film 424863
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Oconee County). 1966. Confederate pension roll, 1890-1920. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah.   film 424879

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Oconee County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1875-2008 - Oconee County, Georgia Probate Court Birth Certificates, 1875-2008. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $


  • 1875-1893 - Oconee County Marriage Index 1875-1893. Batch M713461 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875-2010 - Vital Records; Marriage Licenses. Watkinsville, Georgia: Oconee County Probate Court. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1894-1895 - Oconee County Marriage Index 1894-1895. Batch M713462 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $

  • 1927-2010 - Vital Records; Marriage Licenses. Watkinsville, Georgia: Oconee County Probate Court. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Oconee County Historical Society
PO Box 1514
Watkinsville, GA 30677-0030
Phone:706-546-1850
Oconee Historical Society

Clarke-Ocnee Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 643
Athens, Georgia 30604
Clarke-Oconee Genealogical Society

East Georgia Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 117
Winder, GA 30680
East Georgia Genealogical Society

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oconee County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 47. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 July 2015, at 02:21.
  • This page has been accessed 8,852 times.