Oconee County, South CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
South Carolina
Oconee County
Oconee County, South Carolina genealogy and family history research guide. Introduces you to county topics such as vital record births, marriages, divorces, and deaths, census, court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
Coordinates: 34.75°0′N 83.07°0′W / 34.75°N 83.07°W
| Oconee County, South Carolina | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of South Carolina | |
![]() Location of South Carolina in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 29, 1868 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Walhalla |
| Courthouse | |
Quick Dates
Oconee County's civil records start the following years:
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1915 | 1911 | 1915 | 1870 | 1868 | 1868 |
County Courthouse
Oconee County Courthouse
415 South Pine Street
Walhalla, SC 29691
Clerk of Court
P.O. Box 678
Walhalla, SC 29691
Phone: 864-638-4280
Court records
Register of Deeds
415 South Pine Street
Walhalla, SC 29691
Phone: 864-638-4285
Land records
Probate Court
P.O. Box 471
Walhalla, SC 29691
Phone: 864-638-4275
Probate and marriage records
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday
Historical Facts
The county is named after the Oconee tribe of Native Americans.[1]
Parent County
29 January 1868 - Oconee County was created from Pickens County. [2]
County Pronunciation
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the My South Carolina Genealogy website. The maps rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Resources
African Americans
United States African Americans
South Carolina African Americans
- Megginson, W.J. Black Soldiers in World War I: Anderson, Pickens and Oconee Counties, South Carolina; with a Discussion of Pensions for Civil War Slave Labor. Seneca, S.C.: Oconee County Historical Society, 1994. FHL Book 975.72 M2m
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Florideville
- Seneca
Cemeteries
There are more than # burial grounds in the county.
To view a list, see Oconee County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
Census
Federal
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 10,536 | — |
| 1880 | 16,256 | 54.3% |
| 1890 | 18,687 | 15.0% |
| 1900 | 23,634 | 26.5% |
| 1910 | 27,337 | 15.7% |
| 1920 | 30,117 | 10.2% |
| 1930 | 33,368 | 10.8% |
| 1940 | 36,512 | 9.4% |
| 1950 | 39,050 | 7.0% |
| 1960 | 40,204 | 3.0% |
| 1970 | 40,728 | 1.3% |
| 1980 | 48,611 | 19.4% |
| 1990 | 57,494 | 18.3% |
| 2000 | 66,215 | 15.2% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Oconee County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
For 1890, see: United States Census 1890
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Oconee County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files The USGenWeb Census Project®
Church History and Records
Presbyterian
- The Old Stone Church, Oconee County, South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.?: Old Stone Church and Cemetery Association with cooperation of the Andrew Pickens and Cateechee Chapters, D.A.R., 1905. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Court Records
Oconee County has court records from 1868 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Since Oconee County was formed from Pickens County the records of this county may also be searched.
The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Oconee County.
DNA
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Charleston County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.Genealogy
More than 10 genealogies have been published about Oconee County families. To view a list, visit Oconee County, South Carolina Genealogy.
History
- History of old Pendleton District with a genealogy of the leading families of the district
- The settlement of Pendleton District, 1777-1800 FHL 975.72 W2c
Land and Property
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records for Oconee County:
| Date | Government Office |
| 1868-present | Oconee County |
| 1826-1868 | Pickens District |
| 1800-1826 | Pendleton District |
| 1795-1800 | Pendleton County in Washington District |
| 1789-1795 | Pendleton County in Ninety-Six District |
| 1769-1789 | Ninety-Six District |
| 1719-1769 | Charleston District |
| 1710-1719 | Proprietary Land Grants |
* Anderson County deeds include the records of former Pendelton District/County
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants
- Abstracts of deeds: Pendleton District, SC, books IJ, K, and L (1807-1812), FHL Book 975.72 R28p
- Abstracts of deeds : Pendleton District, SC, books O and P (1818-1822), FHL Book 975.7 R2pa
- Abstracts of deeds Pendleton District and Anderson District, SC: books Q, R, and S (1822-1830), FHL Book 975.72 R2p
- The settlement of Pendleton District, 1777-1800, FHL Book 975.72 W2c
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Oconee County for European settlers included:[5], and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast, 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) ▲ WorldCat 1523234.</ref>
- Savannah River pre-historic
- Old Cherokee Path pre-historic
- Lower Cherokee Traders' Path pre-historic
- Coosa-Tualoo Indian Warpath
- Tugaloo-Apalachie Bay Trail
- Augusta and Cherokee Trail in Georgia 1740s
- Old South Carolina State Road 1747
- Charleston-Ft. Charlotte Trail about 1765
- Fort Charlotte and Cherokee Old Path about 1777
- Upper Road about 1783
- Unicoi Trail or Turnpike 1813[6]
Military History and Recods
French and Indian War
- "Garrison at Ft. Prince George, 1756, Keowee," Tulsa Annals, January 1973, Volume 8, Issue 1. Tulsa Genealogical Society: Tulsa, OK. FHL 40544
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Oconee County, p. 187. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War
Oconee County was created in 1868, three years after the Civil War ended. During the Civil War, the area of Oconee County was part of Pickens District (later Pickens County). Men living in the area of what is now Oconee County may have served in regiments from Pickens District/County.
- - 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry
- - Company F
- -Company A (also known as Kowee Riflemen)
- -Company C (also known as Mountain Boys)
- -Company E (also known as Oconee Riflemen)
- -Company F (also known as Blue Ridge Rifles)
- Bell, Louise Matheson. Rebels in Grey: Soldiers from Pickens District, 1861-1865 ( Seneca, S.C.: Greys of Oconee Chapter No. 1783, United Daughters of the Confederacy, ©1984), 172 pages. Concerns Pickens and Oconee Counties. WorldCat 11859701.
Militia
- Holder, Frederick C.; South Carolina (State) Militia, 2nd Regiment; South Carolina (State) Militia, 5th Regiment; Oconee County Historical Society (Oconee County, South Carolina). The Bailey A. Barton Muster Roll Book of Pickens District, South Carolina [1858]. Seneca, S.C.: Oconee County Historical Society, 1990. FHL Collection Book 975.723 M2b; Film 1697757 item 12. Reviewed in The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 91, No. 4 (Oct. 1990):280-281. Digital version of review at JSTOR ($). [Covers present Pickens and Oconee counties.]
Native American
- Seaborn, Margaret Mills. From 1730 through 1776, Cherokee Indian Towns of Oconee County, South Carolina: With Principal Paths. n.p.: n.p., 1974. Map. FHL 975.721 E7sm
Newspapers
Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Oconee County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Farm and Factory (Seneca, S.C.) 1903-1929.
- Keowee Courier (Pickens Court House, S.C.) 1849-current.
- The Journal and Tribune (Seneca, S.C.) 1952-1985.
- The Journal/Tribune (Seneca, S.C.) 1985-current.
- The Messenger (Seneca, S.C.) 1954-current.
- The New Carolinian (Seneca, S.C.) 1897-1898.
- The Oconee News (Walhalla, S.C.) 1901-1911.
- The Seneca Journal (Seneca, S.C.) 1930-1952.
- The Westminster News (Westminster, S.C.) 1953-current.
- Tugaloo Tribune (Westminster, S.C.) 1909-1952.
- Walhalla Banner (Walhalla, S.C.) 185?-1???.
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- Old Pendleton District Newsletter
Probate
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[7] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. Archival records include estate papers from 1790-1893 from the court of ordinary and probate court records, along with other corollary papers. Statewide Will Transcriptions, 1782 to 1855, database is available online with a searchable index by name. Images are available.
Probate records for the county are available in probate court, court of ordinary, and court of equity. Early probate records may be found in Pendleton District. See probate index for these early records at:
- Judy Chandler Ballard. W.P.A. will transcripts of Pendleton District & Anderson County, S.C., 1790-1857. Walterboro, South Carolina : J.C. Ballard, [1995?]. FHL Book 975.72 P2b
Taxation
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Oconee County.
Published abstracts
- [1864] Internal Revenue Assessment, 1864, Old Pendleton District Newsletter, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Mar. 2009).
To see how the Civil War financially impacted residents of Oconee County, South Carolina, compare values of real and personal estates on the 1860 Census, with 1866-1867 tax records:
- [1866-1867] Rich, Peggy Burton and Margarette Gibbs Ogle. Pickens District, South Carolina 1866 Tax List, January 1, 1866- January 1, 1867. n.p.: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter, 1991. FHL Book 975.72 R4r
Vital Records
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Oconee County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Birth Substitutes - Indexes
1849-1949 - Keowee Courier Newspaper by Oconee County, South Carolina USGenWeb - index, incomplete
Marriage
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Oconee County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1826-1848; 1857-1871 - Abstract of Marriages and Deaths from the Pendleton Messenger, 1826- 1848, the Keowee Courier, 1857-1871 [8] WorldCat 54474080, FHL Collection - index
- 1849-1868 - The Keowee Courier, 1849-1851, 1857-1861 and 1865-1868 by Colleen M. Elliot [9] WorldCat 6421580, FHL Collection - missing years, index
- 1849-1949 - Keowee Courier Newspaper by Oconee County, South Carolina USGenWeb - index, incomplete
- 1911-1950 - Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950 [10] FHL Collection - records
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Oconee County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1826-1848; 1857-1871 - Abstract of Marriages and Deaths from the Pendleton Messenger, 1826- 1848, the Keowee Courier, 1857-1871 [11] WorldCat 54474080, FHL Collection - index
- 1849-1868 - The Keowee Courier, 1849-1851, 1857-1861 and 1865-1868 by Colleen M. Elliot [12] WorldCat 6421580, FHL Collection - missing years, index
- 1914-1960 - State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Libraries
Oconee County Public Library The library has a South Carolina History/Local Genealogy collection housed at the main library in Walhalla. Holdings include family histories, historical maps, cemetery listings and indexes, biographies of noted South Carolinians, and the local newspapers on microfilm.
Items in the collection cannot be circulated or loaned to other libraries.The Library lacks sufficient staff to do research, nor do they respond to letters from persons requesting such services. Names and addresses of persons in the area who do research for a fee can be provided when such a person is known, However, staff may do limited searching when good information is provided. Costs to cover photocopying and postage are $5.00 per name searched.
- Walhalla Main Library
Address:
501 West South Broad Street
Walhalla, SC 29691
Telephone: 864-638-4133
FAX: 864-638-4132
Hours: Monday/Tuesday 9 a.m. - 9 p.m., Wednesday - Friday 9 a.m. - 6 p.m., Saturdays 9 a.m. - 1 p.m., Sundays (Sept. - May) 2 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. - Salem Library
Address:
5-B Park Avenue
Salem, SC 29676
Telephone: 864-944-0912
Hours: Monday 10:00 a.m. - 6 p.m., Tuesday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., Saturday & Sunday CLOSED - Seneca Library
Address:
300 E. S. Second Street
Seneca, SC 29678
Telephone: 864-882-4855
Hours: Mondays and Thursdays 9 a.m. - 9 p.m., Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday 9 a.m. - 6 p.m., Saturday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m., Sunday CLOSED - Westminster Library
Address:
112 W. North Avenue
Westminster, SC 29693
Telephone: 864-647-3215
Hours: Monday 11:30 a.m. - 8 p.m., Tuesday - Friday 9:30 a.m. - 6 p.m., Saturday 9 a.m. - 1 p.m. Sunday CLOSED
Family History Centers
5003 Wells Highway
Seneca, Oconee, South Carolina, United States
Phone: 864-886-9345
Hours: T,Th 10 a.m to 5 p.m Wed. 6;30 p.m. to 8;30 p.m.
Closed: Closed Major Holidays
Museums
Ocone Heritage Center
Address:
123 Browns Square Drive
P.O. Box 395
Walhalla, SC 29691
Telephone: (864) 638-2224
Email: info@oconeeheritagecenter.org
Hours of Operation: Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 12 - 5PM, Saturday: 10AM - 3PM, (And by special Appointment)
the Oconee Heritage Center (OHC) brings history back to life through museum exhibits, educational programs, festivals ,and more. Among other things visitors explore the history of Native Americans, Immigration, Railroads, New Deal Programs, Textile Mills, and Agriculture as it relates to Oconee County.
Research Guides
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Oconee County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
- Inventory of county archives of South Carolina no. 37, Oconee County (Walhalla) FHL Book 975.721 A5h, film 1425646 Item 5
Societies
- Old Pendleton District SCGS Chapter
P.O. Box 603
Central SC 29630-0603
E-mail: claytonroom@swi.edu
Old Pendleton District includes Anderson, Oconee and Pickens Counties.
- Oconee County Genealogical Society
247 Cross Hill Road
Easley SC 29640
source: Society Hill
Websites
References
- ↑ List of counties in South Carolina
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 FHL Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- ↑ Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- ↑ &amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;lt;ref&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;gt;WorldCat 50140092 FHL Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) ▲ WorldCat 1523234.
- ↑ Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- ↑ Revill, Janie, Abstract of Marriages and Deaths from the Pendleton Messenger, 1826- 1848, the Keowee Courier, 1857-1871, [S.I.]: [s.n.], 1933-1936.
- ↑ Elliot, Colleen M., The Keowee Courier, 1849-1851, 1857-1861 and 1865-1868, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
- ↑ South Carolina. Probate Court (Oconee County), Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2004.
- ↑ Revill, Janie, Abstract of Marriages and Deaths from the Pendleton Messenger, 1826- 1848, the Keowee Courier, 1857-1871, [S.I.]: [s.n.], 1933-1936.
- ↑ Elliot, Colleen M., The Keowee Courier, 1849-1851, 1857-1861 and 1865-1868, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
| ||||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2013, at 21:35.
- This page has been accessed 5,677 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




