Oconto County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Oconto County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Oconto County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Oconto County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Oconto
Courthouse
WI Oconto.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Oconto County Courthouse
301 Washington Street
Oconto, WI 54153-1621
Phone: 920.834.6800

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records;
Clerk Courts has divorce records and court records; Registrar in Probate
probate records; Oconto Hist Soc has historical records[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1851- Oconto County was created 6 February 1851 from Brown County. County seat: Oconto [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Name index and images of the Wisconsin state population census taken in 1855. This census only identifies the head of family by name. The rest of the census is statistical.

Church History and Records

Lutheran

Morgan

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Morgan, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Oconto County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Oconto County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Stiles Lutheran Church

  • Records of Stiles Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records 

Circuit Court Case Files from 1857-1923 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Circuit Court Look-Up Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Czechs
Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property 

Tax rolls from 1853-1970 are available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Maps

Images of some land plat books from 1898-1905 may be viewed in the Wisconsin, Shawano and Oconto Counties, Indexes and Records from the Shawano Family History Center collection on the FamilySearch site.

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Oconto County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Oconto County.

- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company I

Naturalization and Citizenship 

Declarations of Intention and Naturalizations from 1857-1952 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Newspapers

Obituaries

A partial obituary index of original obituaries dated between 1850 and 2007 may be viewed in the Wisconsin, Shawano and Oconto Counties, Indexes and Records from the Shawano Family History Center collection on the FamilySearch site.

Periodicals

Probate Records 

Probate case files and wills from 1857-1952 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Online index available at:  http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/
Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums 

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Pre-1907 birth, marriage, and death records are available on microfilm at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Request forms available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
 

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Oconto Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,522 times.