Ogle County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Ogle County

Guide to Ogle County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Ogle County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Ogle County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 16, 1836
County Seat Oregon
Courthouse
Ogle County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Ogle County Courthouse
P.O. Box 69
Oregon, Illinois 61061
(815) 732-1110
Ogle County Website

Contents

Ogle County Organization

Ogle County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Ogle County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1878
1837
1878
1840
1836
1836

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Ogle County are kept, see the Ogle County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Ogle County is named for Captain Joseph Ogle who distinguished himself with courage in the early days of Illinois state history.

Parent County

  • 1836--Ogle County was created 16 January 1836 from Jo Daviess County.  County seat:  Oregon [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Ogle County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Ogle County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190029,129
191027,864−4.3%
192026,830−3.7%
193028,1184.8%
194029,8696.2%
195033,42911.9%
196038,10614.0%
197042,86712.5%
198046,3388.1%
199045,957−0.8%
200051,03211.0%
201053,4974.8%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Ogle County on page 187.]

Church History and Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information. It is usually best to locate church records with a search at a local level such as the city, town, or village.

  • [1894-1903] Mayer, John Lucien. [His] Pastoral Record, 1858-1903. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1985. This record covers several localities with varying time periods, including service in Forreston and Westgrove of Ogle County, 1894–1903. FHL film 1428444 Item 3

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Northern Illinois University - search for Ogle County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

  • 1837–1842 Circuit court records and index FHL film 1605183 Item 7
  • 1837-1842 Circuit Court Record IRAD-NIU
  • 1837-1890 Circuit Clerk's Miscellaneous Files IRAD-NIU
  • 1837-1915 Circuit and Chancery Court Case FilesIRAD-NIU
  • 1838-1904 Circuit Clerk's Oaths, Bonds and Appointments IRAD-NIU
  • 1838-1888 Jury Venires and Summonses IRAD-NIU
  • 1838-1889 Circuit Court Execution Files IRAD-NIU
  • 1858-1872 Circuit Court Narr and Cognovit Files IRAD-NIU
  • 1859-1891 Jail Reports by Grand Juries IRAD-NIU
  • 1860-1870 Circuit Court Case Files, Chancery IRAD-NIU
  • 1867-1897 County Court Miscellaneous Record IRAD-NIU
  • 1872-1900 County Court Dockets IRAD-NIU
  • 1872-1931 County Court Case Files, Criminal IRAD-NIU
  • 1873-1963 County Court Case Files, Common Law IRAD-NIU
  • 1872-1963 Jury Registers IRAD-NIU
  • 1887-1894 Circuit COurt Master's Sale Certificates IRAD-NIU
  • 1892-1894 Circuit Court Master's Sale Report IRAD-NIU

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Northern Illinois University -  search for Ogle County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD - Northern Illinois University NIU IRAD Wiki page.

Online Resources

  • 1800s-Present - Use the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Land Patent Index to obtain original federal land transfer records including homestead, military warrants, and cash entry patents. These records help a research establish location and lead to National Archives' records which may include genealogical information. Earlier land transfer records are housed at the National Archives.
  • Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)

Copies of original records

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Ogle County land and property may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog and FamilySearch Catalog–maps. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Ilogle.jpg

David Rumsey Map Collection for Ogle County contains a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Ogle County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Ogle County.

- 2nd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, (Logan's Escort, Ord's Escort, Stevenson's Escort) Company A.
- 4th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company D (Also known as Quinby's Escort).
- 7th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company B (Also known as Rosecran's Escort).
- 15th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 17th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company M
- 34th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E, F, and H.
- 39th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 55th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B and H.
- 65th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Scotch Regiment), Company A.
- 92nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, D, E, H, and K.
- 140th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I.
- 142nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies D and I.

Naturalization

  • 1839-1900, 1906-1929 Naturalization Records, Circuit Court IRAD-NIU; search for Ogle County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
  • 1839-1931 Naturalization Record Index, Circuit Court IRAD-NIU; search for Ogle County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
  • 1872-1906 Naturalization Records, County Court IRAD-NIU; search for Ogle County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)

Newspapers and Obituaries

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Freeport City newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Ogle County. The Rock Island Public Library provides free access to this database at its library.

Poorhouses

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University (NIU) - search for Ogle County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theNIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of original records

  • 1839–1942 Probate records, wills, administrators' records, executors' records, guardian records, and miscellaneous records for Ogle County probate records are also available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Olge County, and select the record type you are interested in.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Ogle County are kept, see the Ogle County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site.

Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Ogle County. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Dekalb Illinois Family History Center
675 Fox Avenue
Sycamore, Illinois 60178
Telephone: (815) 895–0702
Freeport Illinois Family History Center
1716 S Forest Rd.
Freeport, Illinois 61032
Telephone: (815) 232-3310
Rockford Illinois Family History Center
324 University Dr.
Rockford, Illinois 61107
Telephone: (815) 332-7782
Sterling Illinois Family History Center
2709 N 16th Avenue
Sterling, Illinois 61081
Telephone: (815) 625-1229

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

The Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), managed by the Illinois State Archives, houses the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The Northern Illinois University (IRAD-NIU) holds the records for Ogle County. Learn more about finding and using their records.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
c/o Regional History Center
Founders Memorial Library, Room 400
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-1807

Public Libraries

The following Ogle County libraries have collections of specific interest to genealogists.

Bertolet Memorial Library District
705 S. Main St., Box 339
Leaf River, Illinois 61047
Telephone: (815) 738-2742
They offer microfilmed Leaf River Newspapers, photos and family history files.
Byron Public Library District
109 N. Franklin St.
Byron, Ilinois 61010
Telephone: (815) 234-5107
The library has fiche from Byron Newspapers with a printed index available.
Oregon Public Library
300 Jefferson Street
Oregon, Illinois 61061
Telephone: (815) 732-6643
Their Genealogy Department offers resources collected and maintained by the Ogle County Genealogical Society.
Polo Public Library District
302 West Mason Street
Polo, Illinois 61064-1417
Telephone: (815) 946-2713
They offer local history resources and links to online databases, including "Polo Cemetery Records."
Rockford Public Library
215 N. Wyman St.
Rockford, IL 61101
Telephone: (815) 965-6731
Although in Winnebago County, their Local History Room includes materials for Ogle County.

Social Groups Online

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Ogle County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University (NIU) - search for Ogle County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

General Online Resources

Birth Records

Copies of Original Birth Records

Marriage Records

Copies of original Marriage Records

Death Records

Copies of original Death Records

Additional resources for Ogle County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Ogle – Vital Records, and the Illinois, Ogle – Vital Records - indexes topic pages of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 12,700 times.