Ogley Hay, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Ogley Hay, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ogley Hay, Staffordshire
St James, Brownhills - geograph org uk - 880310.jpg
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Lichfield PLU
Registration District Lichfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OGLEY-HAY, a village, an extra-parochial tract, and a chapelry, in the S of Staffordshire. The village stands on the Wyrley and Essington canal, near Watling-street, and near the boundary with Warwickshire, 4 miles S of Lichfield r. station. There are chapels for Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brownhills St James Ogley Hay was formed 1852 formerly extra parochial.

Ogley Hay parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
BROWNHILLS ST JAMES OGLEY HAY PARISH (1849) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1849-1876
1854-1900


FMP 1559-1876 1559-1876 1854-1900 1854-1900 1851-1900 1851-1900
FREG 1849-1931
1854-1931
1851-1913
FS

1854-1876


NBI



1810

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1840-1983 Mar 1854-1980 Bur 1878-1914
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts No holdings

Non-Conformist Churches

Mount Pleasant Primitive Methodist Chapel (Watling St.) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

MOUNT PLEASANT PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (WATLING ST) (1867) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1867-1965






Park View Wesleyan Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PARK VIEW WESLEYAN CHAPEL (1868) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1868-1964






Silver St. Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SILVER ST WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL  (1861) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1861-1967





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Lichfield Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/OgleyHay/index.html

Reference

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed 24 August 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 2 April 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,007 times.