Ogun State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Ogun State

Guide to Ogun State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Ogun State
Ogun State is a state in South-western Nigeria. It borders Lagos State to the South, Oyo and Osun states to the North, Ondo State to the east and the republic of Benin to the west. Abeokuta is the capital and largest city in the state.

It was created in February 1976 from the former Western State.

Local Government Areas

Resources

History

Ogun, state, western Nigeria, created in 1976 and comprising former Abeokuta and Ijebu provinces of former Western state, the latter carved out of former Western region in 1967. Ogun is bounded by Oyo and Osun states to the north, Lagos state to the south, Ondo state to the east, and the Republic of Benin to the west. It is covered predominantly by tropical rain forest and has wooded savanna in the northwest.

Sodeke (Shodeke), a hunter and leader of the Egba refugees who fled from the disintegrating Oyo empire, founded about 1830 a principality at Abeokuta in what is now the north-central part of the state. Most of the inhabitants of Ogun state are members of the Egba and Egbado subgroups of the Yoruba people.

Genealogy

Cemeteries

Websites

Ogun State Government (retrieved 13 April 2010)

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,479 times.