Oklahoma GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Oklahoma
Guide to Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
|How to Find Information about Oklahoma Ancestors|
Click this button for links to databases, indexes, or sites that help you find an American Indian ancestor by topic or tribe.
Oklahoma Historical Society · Oklahoma Department of Libraries · Oklahoma State Archives and Records Administration · Lawton Public Library · University of Oklahoma Libraries · Hughes County Historical Society · Oklahoma Territorial Museum Carnegie Library · Tulsa Genealogical Society Library · Museum of the Western Prairie Library · Miami Public Library · National Archives Southwest Region (Ft. Worth) · Bancroft Library at Univ. of Calif., Berkeley · Clayton Library Center for Genealogical Research · Dallas Public Central Library
Arkansas River · Butterfield Overland Mail · Canadian River · Cimarron River · Red River · Chisholm Trail · Santa Fe Trail · Atlantic and Pacific Railroad · St. Louis–San Francisco Railway · Texas and Pacific Railway
- Oklahoma Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- How to order Oklahoma Vital Records
- State of Oklahoma County & City Government Court links
- Rotating Formation Oklahoma County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- Digital Archives from the Oklahoma State University, a varied selection of resources.
- Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation Department's new 'genealogy' section aids those looking for ancestors in Oklahoma.
- Oklahoma Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of Oklahoma Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- History & Facts of Oklahoma Counties
- Family Tree Encyclopedia - Terminology & Meanings of Genealogical Terms
- Printable Genealogy Forms used in Research
- David Rumsey Map Collection - is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
Wiki articles describing online collectons are found at:
- Oklahoma Applications for Enrollment of the Commission of the Five Civilized Tribes (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Oklahoma County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Oklahoma Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Did You Know?
- The Caddoe, Pawnee, and Wichita tribes were living in the area of Oklahoma in the 1700s. About the time the United States acquired the area through the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, other tribes such as the Quapaw, Oto, and Osage migrated to eastern Oklahoma. By 1837, the Civilized Tribes had settled most of their members in Oklahoma. Read more...
- Before 1900 the largest religious groups in Oklahoma were the Baptist, Roman Catholic, Disciples of Christ, and Methodist churches.
- On Monday April 22, exactly at 12:00 noon, men, women and children lined up on the Arkansas and Texas borders to rush for their free land. This was the Oklahoma Territory land rush of 1889. The United States government surveyed the area into 6 mile square townships and mile square sections (640 acres). No federal employee, railroad employee, or person who was not authorized to be on the land could claim land. That rule was broken more than observed. Read more...
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join the Facebook or Skype Oklahoma Genealogy Research Community!
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- This page was last modified on 3 September 2015, at 12:00.
- This page has been accessed 64,820 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News