Oklahoma IntroductionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png  Introduction

This set of Wiki pages describes major sources of information about families from Oklahoma. As you read these Oklahoma Wiki pages, study the United States set of Wiki pages, which will help you understand terminology and the contents and uses of genealogical records.

Records of the Family History Library

The Family History Library has many of the records described in these Oklahoma Wiki pages. The library's major holdings of Oklahoma records include biographies, cemetery records, census records, court records, vital records, and some American Indian records.

Some of the sources described in this set of Wiki pages list the Family History Library's book, microfilm, and microfiche. These are preceded by FHL, the abbreviation for Family History Library. You can use these numbers to locate materials in the library and to order microfilm and microfiche at Family History Centers.

FamilySearch Catalog

The library's records are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog found at the library and at each Family History Center. The catalog is available in a online or microfiche version. To find a record, look in the Place Search of the catalog for:

  • The place where your ancestor lived, such as:
UNITED STATES - CENSUS
OKLAHOMA - ARCHIVES AND LIBRARIES
OKLAHOMA, TULSA - PROBATE RECORDS
OKLAHOMA, TULSA, TULSA - VITAL RECORDS

  • The record type you want to search, such as:
UNITED STATES - CENSUS
OKLAHOMA - ARCHIVES AND LIBRARIES
OKLAHOMA, TULSA - PROBATE RECORDS
OKLAHOMA, TULSA, TULSA - VITAL RECORDS

The page titles in the Oklahoma Wiki pages match the names of record types used in the catalog.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:05.
  • This page has been accessed 947 times.