Old Brentford, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Old Brentford, Middlesex family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

"{Infobox England Jurisdictions | image = | caption = | Type = Ecclesiastical Parish | County = Middlesex | Hundred = Ossulstone (Kensington Division) | Poor Law Union = Brentford | Registration District = Brentford | PRbegin = 1828 | BTbegin = 1808 | Province = Canterbury | Diocese = London | Archdeaconry = | Archdeaconries = | Rural Deanery = Not created until 1858 | Parish = | Peculiar = | Chapelry = | Probate Court = Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex | Archdeaconry Court = | Bishops Court = | Prerogative Court = | Archive = Middlesex Record Office }}


Contents

Parish History

Brentford (see also New Brentford) which comprised of two divisions: Old Brentford and New Brentford. Old Brentford had two chapelries by 1870. These two chapelries included St George--built well before 1770 which lay within the ancient parish boundary of Ealing. The other chapel (in Old Brentford) included St Paul Church, built by the year 1868 and lay within the civil parish boundaries of Ealing St Mary. There are also places of worship for Particular Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Old Brentford Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1618
.
Images
Indexes 1618-1836 FindMyPast[2]
Online St George Old Brentford Chapelry Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Indexes 1828-1840 BritishOrigins[3]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438805.

1666 Hearth Tax


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Old Brentford on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Samuel Lewis, ed.A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 February 2014.
  2. "West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage," FindMyPast, accessed 8 March 2012.
  3. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 3,836 times.