Old Buckenham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Old Buckenham All Saints.jpg

Guide to Old Buckenham, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BUCKENHAM, OLD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Guiltcross, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (S. S. E.) from Attleburgh. There are places of worship for Baptists, Sandemanians, and Primitive Methodists. [1]

Old Buckenham All Saints is an Ancient parish and is adjacent to New Buckenham, Norfolk It has an octagonal 14th century tower and thatched nave and chancel and retains medieval bench ends with figures carved to represent Old Testament prophets.

The Buckenham neighbours should not be confused with Buckenham, Norfolk

Registration Districts

  • Guiltcross1837-1902
  • Wayland 1902-1974
  • Free BMD

Church records

Old Buckenham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Old Buckenham, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1560-1649

FREG 1560-1908
1560-1907
1560-1901
FS PRs Undefined 1648-1908 Undefined 1648-1907 Undefined 1648-1901
IGI 1560-1649 1560-1648
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference is PD107/1-11, 15-16

Further parish material is found for later years of the parish registers:

Content Film
Marriages, 1801-1812; marriage banns, 1801-1881. Marriages, 1813-1907. Burials, 1813-1901. Marriage banns, 1882-1907 FHL BRITISH Film
1911509 Items 1 - 6

Known Issues

There is a known issue in the England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) Baptisms on Source film 1911508 have been found to contain the incorrect place data entry and some entries for this parish may also be affected by the error. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812

Family History Library BRITISH Film

BRITISH 1526817 Item 15

Baptisms, burials, 1648-1691; marriages, 1649-1691. Baptisms, marriages, 1692-1778; burials, 1692-1717, 1734-1778. Baptisms, burials, 1778-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1908. Marriages, 1754-1801; marriage banns, 1755-1765

Marriages, 1801-1812; marriage banns, 1801-1881. Marriages, 1813-1907. Burials, 1813-1901. Marriage banns, 1882-1907.

BRITISH Film

1911508 Items 19 - 24

BRITISH Film 1911509 Items 1 - 6

At present the only Record Search images online are those for  Old_Buckenham,_Norfolk under a heading "Buckenham" This awaits future engineering for correction and Buckenham Parva (Buckenham Tofts) registers are not available online.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.



Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes B

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851 
•Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-420. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 11 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 16:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,708 times.