Old Hutton, WestmorlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Westmorland Gotoarrow.pngWestmorland Parishes

Guide to Old Hutton, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Old Hutton, Westmorland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kendal
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union Kendal PLU
Registration District Kendal
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kendal
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HUTTON, OLD, a chapelry, in the parish, union,and ward of Kendal, county of Westmorland, 4 miles(S. E.) from Kendal.[1]

Old Hutton was created a chapelry by 1813 and lay within the ancient parish boundaries of Kendal.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 594-598. Date accessed: 27 July 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 655 times.