Old KilpatrickEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Dunbartonshire Gotoarrow.png Old Kilpatrick

Parish #501

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Old or West Kilpatrick.

To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

 

Contents

History

KILPATRICK, OLD, or WEST, a parish, in the county of Dumbarton; containing, with the late quoad sacra parish of Duntocher, and the villages of BowlingBay, Dalmuir, Dalmuir-Shore, Dumbuck, Little-Mill, and Milton, 5 miles (E. by S.) from Dumbarton, and 10 (N. W. by W.) from Glasgow. This place derives its name from the dedication of its ancient church to St. Patrick, the tutelar saint of Ireland, by whom it was originally founded. The parish is bounded on the south by the river Clyde. The parish church, erected in 1812, is an elegant structure in the later English style of architecture, with a square embattled tower. A church has been erected at Duntocher, in connexion with the Establishment; and there are places of worship at Old Kilpatrick for members of the Free Church and the Relief; at Duntocher, for the United Secession, Roman Catholics, and the Free Church; and at Faifley, for the United Secession.[1]

This parish includes the village of Duntocher.

 

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/ . Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Old Kilpatrick.  Also available at the Family History Library.

 

Census Records


A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Old Kilpatrick

Below is information for any known surname indexes:

 

Years Surname Index            
1841
1851 CD-ROM no. 3816
1861
1871
1881 6086556 ( 4 fiche)
1891

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

 

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1688-1819 1041001
1820-1854 1041002
Marriages: 1689-1820 1041001
1820-1855 1041002
Deaths: 1790-1845 1041002

Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the FamilySearch.org.
Births: The record previous to 1750, has suffered from dampness. There is a modern copy of the portion prior to August 1696.
Marriages: Leaf wanting with entries May 1693–January 1694. From 1762–1786 including, the fact of marriage is very seldom added to the entry of booking for proclamation, and only in a few instances 1795–1811, inclusive; more frequently after 1812.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Note: Old Kilpatrick is a north western suburb of Glasgow.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The Kirk session was made up of he minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here are lists of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Old or West Kirk Session

Minutes 1807–1887
Cash Book 1829–1890
List of Deaths and Burials 1790–1845
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, records CH2/893.

Duntocher Kirk Session

Manager's Minutes 1836–1864
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/116.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

According to The New Statistical Account for Old Kilpatrick for 1839, the population of the parish was 6123. Of that number, 865 belonged to the Relief Church, 785 to the Secession, 272 Original Burghers, 53 Episcopalians, 764 Catholics, 14 Baptists, 1 Methodist, 1 Reformed Presbyterian, 1 Unitarian, 1 Independent, and 17 persons of no religious persuasion.

Craigs and Duntocher United Presbyterian Churches

History—
Several parishioners, dissatisfied with the minister of the parish, withdrew from the Established Church and acceded to the Associate Presbytery in 1739, and formed part of the first Secession congregation of Glasgow Greyfriars. In 1776, several more parishioners withdrew and applied to the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Glasgow for supply of sermon, which was granted. They were then joined by other Seceders and a congregation was formed in 1779. A church was built in 1781 in Craigs. In 1799, the minister and the majority of his congregation adhered to the Original Associate Burgher synod and retained the property. The minority formed the Duntocher Associate Secession congregation. They were supplied with sermon as a preaching station. A church was built in 1824 and a minister ordained in 1826. The minister and congregation were received into connection with the United Associate Secession Synod in 1840. In 1869, the Craigs and Duntocher congregations united. This church entered the United Free Church Union in 1929 and is still affiliated with it.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D., pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details may be given in the source including a list of ministers.

Records—
The extent of records is unknown. For information, write to the minister (as of the 2000 directory) at:
Duntocher West United Free Church of Scotland
c/o the Minister
8 South View
Dalmuir
Glydebank G81 3LA
Scotland


Old Kilpatrick Relief Church, later United Presbyterian

History—
In 1793, due to the forced settlement of a new minister in the parish church, several persons withdrew from the Established Church and applied to the Relief Presbytery for supply of sermon, which was granted. A church was built in 1795.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D., pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details may be given in the source including a list of ministers.

Records—
The extent of records is unknown.


Old Kilpatrick Free Church

History—
The minister of the parish, and much of his congregation, came out in 1843. The church was built in 1844.
Membership: 1848, 240; 1900, 200.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source including a list of ministers.

Records—
The extent of records is unknown.


Duntocher Free Church

History—
The minister of Duntocher parish and the great majority of his people came out in 1843. A church and manse were forthwith erected. About 1860 the stoppage of the mills hurt the congregation, as did other later factors. This congregation later became the East United Free Church in 1900, then Hardgate Church of Scotland in 1929.
Membership: 1848, N/A; 1870, 157; 1900, 280.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source including a list of ministers.


Duntocher, St Mary's Roman Catholic Church

History:

unknown

Records:

Note: Available online for a fee, at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk,  Edinburgh, record MP

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Old Kilpatrick was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunbarton until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunbarton. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library locality for the 'Place' of Dunbarton and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunbarton.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Dunbarton.  Look in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Dunbarton and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'


Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 42-61. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 February 2014.


[Return to the Dunbartonshire parish list.]

 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 February 2014, at 21:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,517 times.