Old Malton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-RGotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Old Malton

Guide to Old Malton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Old Malton, Yorkshire
St Mary's Priory Old Malton Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ryedale
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Malton PLU
Registration District Malton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1606
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Old Malton is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. New Malton St Leonard, Yorkshire andNew Malton, St Michael, Yorkshire were chapelries of Old Malton. Other places in the parish include: Wykeham and Wycombe.

St Mary's Priory church is the only remaining Gilbertine Priory to remain in use as church in England.

MALTON (OLD), a village and a parish in Malton district, N. R. Yorkshire. [1]

MALTON, OLD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and parliamentary borough of Malton, wapentake of Ryedale, N. riding of York, 1 mile (N. E.) from Malton. [2]

See also Malton Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Old Malton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
OLD MALTON PARISH (1606) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1875-1886
1877-1886

FMP 1606-1876 1606-1876 1606-1877 1606-1877 1609-1876 1609-1876
FS 1606-1886
1606-1886
None
JOIN None
1606-1837
None
NBI

1780-1837

Borthwick Institute University of York holds deposited registers for:

Baptisms: 1606-1990
Marriages: 1606-1983
Burials: 1606-1941

Bishop's Transcripts:

1600, 1605, 1608-1616, 1625, 1634, 1636, 1637, 1640-1643, 1661,1662, 1664-1673, 1675, 1677-1682, 1685-1689, 1691-1697, 1700-1840, 1842, 1843, 1855-1868

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464236.

Poor Law Unions

Malton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales.1870-72. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
  4. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,750 times.