Old Radnor with Kinnerton, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Old Radnor, Herefordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Old Radnor with Kinnerton, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

For more information and records see Old Radnor with Kinnerton, Radnorshire.

Old Radnor with Kinnerton, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Radnor
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Presteigne PLU
Registration District Presteigne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Parish History

RADNOR. (Old), a village, a township, and a parish, in Presteigne district, Radnorshire. The village stands on a rocky height, 2¾ miles E S E of New Radnor and 3¾ W N W of Kington r. station. The township contains also the hamlet of Burlingjobb, and bears the name of O. R. and B. The parish contains also the townships of Lower Harpton, electorally in Hereford, part of Upper Harpton, and all Ednol, all Walton and Womaston, all Evenjobb, Newcastle, Barland, and Burfa, and all Kinnerton, Salford, and Badland; and is partly within New Radnor borough.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Old Radnor

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Accessed and adapted 9 July, 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 14:23.
  • This page has been accessed 941 times.