Olmsted County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Olmsted County

Guide to Olmsted County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Olmsted County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Olmsted County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1855
County Seat Rochester
Courthouse
Address Olmsted County Courthouse
151 SE 4th Street
Rochester, MN 55904
Phone: 507.287.1444
Olmsted County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court incomplete birth and death records from 1871,
marriage records from 1855, divorce records
from 1860 and court records form 1858.
County Court has probate records. Coroner and
Department of Health have burial records[1]

History

This county, established February 20, 1855, was named in honor of David Olmsted, first mayor of St. Paul, in 1854, who in 1855 removed to Winona, in the county of that name, adjoining Olmsted county.

Parent County

County seat: Rochester [2]

  • For a brief history of how Olmsted County was named, click here.  Then select Olmsted County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities
  • Byron
  • Chatfield
  • Dover
  • Eyota
  • Oronoco
  • Pine Island
  • Rochester
  • Stewartville


Townships

Cascade | Dover | Eyota | Elmira | Farmington | Haverhill | High Forest & 45 | Kalmar | Marion |New Haven | Orion| Oronoco | Pleasant Grove | Quincy | Rochester | Rock Dell & 45| Salem | Viola

 Unincorporated

Douglas



Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Censuses

1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 and 1900 US Federal Censuses for Olmsted, Minnesota can be found at FamilySearch Record Search]. Free searchable name indexes and images are available for most census years. 

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Rochester
Lutheran

Byron

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Byron, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

East (Byron) and West St. Olaf Congregations

  • Records of East and West St. Olaf Lutheran Congregations, Olmsted and Dodge Counties, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Rochester

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Rochester, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Zumbro Lutheran Church, Rochester

  • Records of the Zumbro Lutheran Church, Rochester, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Olmsted – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Olmsted County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnolmsted.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Olmsted County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Olmsted County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company I.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Company H.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company L.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies C and K.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F
- 11th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies C and D.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Olmsted County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

• Ole & Lena: the genealogy and local history of a Norwegian settlement (Dodge and Olmsted counties in Minnesota) http://web.mac.com/moiseth/Ole_and_Lena:_genealogy_/Welcome.html

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Olmsted County, Minnesota page 367, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 7,448 times.