Olveston, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Olveston, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Olveston, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langley and Swinehead
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Thornbury PLU
Registration District Thornbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1683
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OLVESTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thornbury, Lower division of the hundred of Langley and Swinehead, W. division of the county of Gloucester; containing, with the tythings of Cote and Upper Tockington. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Olveston, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[5]
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
OLVESTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1683-1781 1683-1781
BOYD
1560-1812

FHSO 1800-1812
IARC 1572-1605 (gaps) 1587-1628 (gaps) 1561-1567 (gaps)
JOIN 1561-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288773.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 476-479. Date accessed: 07 January 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  5. 'Extracts from Parish Registers, No. IX.: Thornbury and Olveston,' in Beaver H. Blacker, ed., Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 3 (1887):256-257. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  6. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,996 times.