Oneida, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Madison CountyGotoarrow.pngOneida

Contents

Resources

Church Records

City Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Oneida, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


History

Additional Resources:

Madison County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of several communities near Oneida, NY.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Libraries

Oneida Public Library
220 Broad Street
Oneida, New York 13421
Phone: 315-363-3050

Genealogical Resources: The Local History Room. Books, directories, newspapers, census, local history, maps. Microfilm collection. Selected Bibliography

Mary King Research Library and Cottage Lawn Museum
Madison County Historical Society
435 Main Street
Oneida, NY 13421
Phone: 315-363-4136/315-361-9735
E–mail: history@mchs1900.org

Genealogical Resources: The library collections include the following items: family names, newspapers on microfilm, vital stats, census records and more.The museum and library are located in a home built n 1850.

Societies

Madison County Historical Society
435 Main Street
Oneida, NY 13421
Phone: 315-363-4136/315-361-9735
E–mail: history@mchs1900.org

Genealogical Resources: The Mary King Research Library collections includes the following items, family names, newspapers on microfilm, vital stats, census records and more.The Society also has an online newsletter.

Central New York Genealogical Society[1]
Box 104, Calvin Station
Syracuse, New York 13205
E-mail: CNYSG@yahoo.com

Genealogical Resources: Member queries; surname research list; online resources; six meetings/year; publishes Tree Talks (At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 B2t) quarterly with annual index.

City Clerk

City of Oneida, Clerk
109 N. Main St
Oneida, NY 13421
Phone: (315) 363-7378
Fax: (315)363-9558
E-mail: spulverenti@oneidacity.com

City Historian

Dave Alvord, Historian
109 N. Main St
Oneida, NY 13421
Phone: (315) 363-4800
Fax: (315)363-9558
E-mail: jalvord@cnyconnect.net

Vital Records

References

  1. Central New York Genealogical Society at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nycnygs/index.htm (accessed 1 November 2011).

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 March 2012, at 16:19.
  • This page has been accessed 775 times.