Openshaw, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Openshaw, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Openshaw, Lancashire
Openshaw St Barnabas contributor Bill Boaden.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorlton PLU
Registration District Chorlton
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

OPENSHAW (St Barnabas), an ecclesiastical district with a chapel, in the parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, union of Chorlton, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 3 miles east by south of Manchester, comprising the townships of Beswick, Bradford, and Openshawp. The church, dedicated to St. Barnabas, was erected in 1839. The Wesleyans and the New Connexion of Methodists have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

A few online transcriptions for Openshaw St Barnabas (1839) and St Clements (1880) Chapelries exist, as well as those for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which these were attached. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burial registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk

 

OPENSHAW ST BARNABAS Chapelry (1839) Indexes - see also Newton Heath All Saints
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None  None
LBMD None 1841-1957 None
OPENSHAW ST CLEMENT Chapelry (1880) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1880-1910 1881-1912 None
LOPC None None None

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all the (150-plus) chapelries and district churches comprising the ancient parish of Manchester and, their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

Original Parish (chapelry) registers are housed at the Manchester Central Library in Manchester.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438736.


Poor Law Unions

Chorlton Poor Law Union,Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 476-479. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 3,571 times.