Orange County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Orange County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Orange County Courthouse
801 W Division Street; PO Box 1536
Orange, TX 77631
County Clerk has birth records from 1878, death records
from 1903, marriage, land and probate records from 1852,
military records from 1898 and court records from 1896;
District Clerk has divorce records
The current Orange County Courthouse, built in 1937, is the fourth courthouse to hold Orange County's offices and records. The first courthouse was built in 1853. The second courthouse, built in 1884 burned in 1898. The 1898 Courthouse was the county's third courthouse.
Inventory of the county archives of Texas: Orange County, no. 181. Inventory of records of Orange County housed in the Orange County Courthouse as of 1936-1937. Digital book online from The Portal to Texas History.
Inventory of county records: Orange County Courthouse, Orange, Texas, 1979. Inventory of records of Orange County housed in the Orange County Courthouse in Orange, Texas; begins with an introduction and explanation of the roles of various county government offices. Inventory describes the records of the Commissioners' Court, County Clerk, County Court, District Clerk, District Attorney, Justice of the Peace, Sheriff, Tax Assessor-Collector, County Treasurer, and Auditor. Also provides a list of Orange County records and an index. Digital book online from The Portal to Texas History.
Orange County; 801 W Division St; PO Box 1536; Orange, TX 77631; Ph. 409.882.7055 Details: (Co Clk has b rec from 1878, d rec from 1903, m, land & pro rec from 1852, mil rec from 1898 & ct rec from 1896; Dis Clk has div rec)
1898--Orange County Courthouse, built in 1884, destroyed by fire, April 14, 1898. All county records were stored in a vault and were not harmed by the fire. 
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Bridge City | Orange | Pinehurst | Vidor | West Orange
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Forest Lawn Memorial Park, West Orange BillionGraves
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Orange County Land Title Abstracts from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
Local histories are available for Orange County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Gateway to Texas: the History of Orange and Orange County, 1988, by Howard C. Williams. Read the book online from The Portal to Texas History.
- Orange County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Orange County 1862 Map from The Portal to Texas History.
- Orange County 1880 Map from The Portal to Texas History.
- Orange County 1886 Map from The Portal to Texas History.
- Orange County 1895 Map from The Portal to Texas History.
- Aerial Views of Orange County, 1948-1950s: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 from The Portal to Texas History.
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Orange County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Orange County Births 1905-1925 from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Orange County Marriages 1951-1971 from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Orange County Deaths 1903-1984 from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
- Orange County Cremations and Donations to Science from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Certificates for four million people who have died since 1964.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
South East Texas Genealogical and Historical Society
c/o Tyrrell Historical Library
P.O. Box 3827
Beaumont, TX 77704-3827
Orande County Historical Society
P.O. Box 1345
Orange, TX 77630
Orange County Home Page
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Orange County TXGenWeb site history, information, lists, links and other Orange County information.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orange County, Texas. Page 671 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "3000 Persons Present for Orange County Courthouse Dedication," in the Port Arthur News, 19 Nov 1937
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ GenDisasters.com - Orange, TX Courthouse Fire, Apr 1898 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17708/orange-tx-orange-county-courthouse-fire-apr-1898
- This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 16:24.
- This page has been accessed 11,401 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News