Orange County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Orange County Vermont genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Orange County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Orange County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Orange County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded October 18, 1785
County Seat Chelsea
Courthouse
Address Orange County Courthouse
5 Court Street, PO Box 95
Chelsea, VT 05038
802-685-4610
Fax: 802-685-3246
Orange County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Town clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records; County clerk has divorce and court records from 1781 and land records from 1771; Probate judge has probate records from 1771.[1]

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Bradford 1770,
Braintree 1781,
Brookfield 1781,
Chelsea 1781,
Corinth 1764,
Fairlee 1761,
Newbury 1763,
Orange 1781,
Randolph 1781,
Straford 1761,
Thetford 1761,
Topsham 1763,
Turnbridge 1761,
Vershire 1781,
Washington 1781,
West Fairlee 1779,
Williamstown 1781[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontNew HampshireOrange CountyWindsor CountyRutland CountyAddison CountyWashington CountyCaledonia CountyGrafton CountyOrangeTopshamNewburyWilliamstownWashingtonCorinthBradfordBrookfieldChelseaVershireWest FairleeFairleeBraintreeRandolphTunbridgeStraffordThetfordHartfordNorwichPomfretSharonRoyaltonBarnardStockbridgeBethelRochesterPittsfieldHancockGranvilleRoxburyWarrenNorthfieldWaitsfieldFaystonDuxburyMoretownMiddlesexBerlinMontpelierEast MontpelierBarrePlainfieldMarshfieldPeachamGrotonBarnetRyegateMonroeLymanBathHaverhillBentonPiermontWarrenOrfordWentworthLymeDorchesterHanoverCanaanOrangeLebanon
Modern town borders in Orange County, Vermont.

Towns:

Extinct Town:Norfolk[2]

Villages:

  • Newbury
  • Wells River

Community:

  • Bradford

Neighboring Counties

Addison | Caledonia | Washington | Windsor | Grafton County, New Hampshire

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

A transcript of the 1771 census of Gloucester County, New York survives:

  • O'Callaghan, Edmund B. Documentary History of the State of New York Vol. 4 (1851):709.[3] Digital version at Internet Archive - free.

Church

Court

Gazetteers

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Vtorange.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B and K

Newspapers

Probate

Orange County Probate Districts 
  • Randolph District - Braintree, Brookfield, Chelsea, Orange, Randolph, Tunbridge, Washington and Williamstown.
  • Bradford District - Bradford, Corinth, Fairlee, Newbury, Strafford, Thetford, Topsham, Vershire and West Fairlee.
  • Orange District - in 1994 the Randolph and Bradford Districts merged under the Orange District.

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont <a title="Vermont Birth Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/birth_form.aspx" target="_blank">Birth Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Marriage Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/marriage_form.aspx" target="_blank">Marriage Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Divorce Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/divorce_form.aspx" target="_blank">Divorce Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Death Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/deathcert_form.aspx" target="_blank">Death Certificate</a> Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  3. Harry Macy, "Newtown Census of 1771," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 117, No. 1 (Jan. 1986):8. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 117. The original census records were destroyed in a 1911 fire at the New York State Library.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:43.
  • This page has been accessed 4,754 times.