Ore, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Ore, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ore, Sussex
St Helen's Church (Ore Parish Church), The Ridge, Hastings.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Baldstow; Hastings Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hastings PLU
Registration District Hastings
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ORE (St. Helen), a parish, in the hundred of Baldslow, union and rape of Hastings, East division of Sussex, 2½ miles North by North West from Hastings. The parish is situated on the road from Hastings to Battle.[1]


The former parish church of Ore, St Helens had 12th-century origins and there are remaining listed ruins. The present St Helen's Church, built nearby in 1869, replaced it.

history and images

Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

From this parish developed Ore Christ Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks [OPC)

other places of worship include

Clive Vale United Reformed Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Halton Baptist Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Redlake Congregational Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Seventh Day Adventist Church
St Helens Methodist Church

See A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 479-483. here

See also Ore Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ore, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Ore, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1558-1878

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ore

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.

Poor Law Unions

Hastings Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Ore/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 28 May 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,296 times.