Oregon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Oregon
Guide to Oregon ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Welcome to Oregon, Beaver State
Oregon is a western state of the United States. It was the 33rd state admitted to the Union, on February 14, 1859.
The settlement of the Oregon Country commenced in March 1811 with the fur-trappers from John Jacob Astor's company "Pacific Fur Company" at Fort Astoria, now simply Astoria.
According to the Oregon Blue Book, the source for the earliest written use of the word "Oregon" was Major Robert Rogers, a British army officer. In his 1765 proposal for a journey.
|How to Find Information about Oregon Ancestors|
Counties of Oregon
Oregon County Creation Dates and Parent Counties showing dates they were created or renamed and counties created from older counties. Details will assist you in determining which county would have the records you are seeking. Oregon currently has 36 counties:
Did You Know?
- If your ancestors migrated to the West by following the Oregon Trail, take a look at the Oregon Trail History Library. You’re welcome to add emigration history of your pioneer.
- The Oregon Trail was much more than a pathway to the state of Oregon; it was the only practical corridor to the entire western United States. The places we now know as Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada, Idaho and Utah would probably not be a part of the United States today were it not for the Oregon Trail. That's because the Trail was the only feasible way for settlers to get across the mountains.
- The thousands of settlers who arrived in the Oregon Territory between December 1850 and December 1855 were eligible to receive donation land claims. The applications for these free lands may provide birth, marriage, citizenship, and migration information. Read more...
- Gretna Greens. When an Oregon couple's marriage is not in their home county, search for it in alternate places like Winnemucca NV, or Weiser ID, or Payette ID. Many people were married in Washington because it did not require waiting or a blood test.
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
Things you can do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
Oregon Research Topics
- ↑ Arlene H. Eakle, "Have you searched and searched for a marriage without finding it?" in Genealogy Blog at http://www.arleneeakle.com/wordpress/2007/02/19/have-you-searched-and-searched-for-the-marriage-without-finding-it/ (accessed 8 January 2011).
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:32.
- This page has been accessed 52,245 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More