Oregon County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Oregon County

Guide to Oregon County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Oregon County, Missouri
Map
Map of Missouri highlighting Oregon County
Location in the state of Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1845
County Seat Alton
Courthouse
Address Oregon County Courthouse
PO Box 324
Alton, MO 65606
Phone: 417.778.7475
Oregon County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Clerk Cicuit Court has court has marriage, divorce, marriage and court records;
Probate Judge has probate records; Recorder Deeds has land records[1]

History

Parent County

1845--Oregon County was created 14 February 1845 from Ripley County. County seat: Alton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

A Directory of Towns, Villages, and Hamlets Past and Present of Oregon County, Missouri. Compiled by Arthur Paul Moser is available from the Springfield-Greene County Library District.
Also, the State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Carter  • Fulton County, Arkansas  • Howell  • Randolph County, Arkansas  • Ripley  • Shannon  • Sharp County, Arkansas

Oregon CountyRipley CountyButler CountyWayne CountyIron CountyReynolds CountyCarter CountyShannon CountyTexas CountyHowell CountyOzark CountyDouglas CountyClay CountyRandolph CountyGreene CountyLawrence CountyCraighead CountyIzard CountyFulton CountySharp CountyBaxter CountyStone CountyMarion CountyMOOregon.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Topographic Map Church Features in Oregon County, Missouri.

Court

  • Many Court records for Oregon County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Oregon County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Oregon County, Missouri Published Books.
  • Oregon County Missouri. This lists collections in the Western Historical Manuscript Collection-Rolla that del in some manner with Oregon County.
  • Many History records for Oregon County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Maps

Mooregon.jpg

Military

Civil War
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company F
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company C
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company F
:- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate,
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company A
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E

Naturalization

  • Many Naturalization records for Oregon County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Oregon County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Oregon County, Missouri.jpg
  • Oregon County, Missouri Probate Records. Index to Probate Records A-F.
  • Many Probate records for Oregon County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Schools

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Many vital records records for Oregon County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and may be available through Inter-Library loan. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Births
Marriages
  • Ancestry ($) has the following records available:
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Oregon County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
genealogytrails.com Free variety of topics, with data submitted by individuals
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Oregon County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Oregon County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Oregon County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Oregon County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Oregon County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oregon County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 October 2014, at 15:28.
  • This page has been accessed 7,535 times.