Orem FamilySearch CenterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a FamilySearch Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.

 

Orem Family History Training Center
A.K.A.
Utah South Area Family History Training Center

Specializing in Family History and FamilySearch Family Tree Training

Orem LFHC Logo.PNG

The Utah South Area Family History Training Center has temporarily relocated to Orem, Utah, and is a Family History unit of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The mission of this Center is to provide quality training in genealogical research and computer technology for those with family history callings and others who have a desire to learn or improve their skills in meeting their personal genealogy goals.


Special Topics Classes
Ancestral Quest: Aug 21, 2014
RootsMagic: Aug 28, 2014
Legacy Family Tree: Sep 4, 2014

FamilySearch Family Tree Class
Aug 27 or 28, 2014

Five-Day Comprehensive Class
Sep 15 - 19, 2014 (Full, Standby Only)


Also at the FHTC: Youth Activities! Fun and informative classes are available for youth ages 8 - 18. Click here for more information.


Click here for full class schedule information, or to register for classes.

Contact, Location & Hours

Utahutahvalleyfhc.jpg
Director: Jay W. Grant
Phone: 801-356-9114
Email: ut_southtrainingfacility@ldsmail.net

Located at 1075 S. Geneva Rd., in Orem (in the Orem University 3rd Stake Building)

Regular Schedule:

  • Mon: 9 - 5 
  • Tue: 9 - 7
  • Wed: 9 - 7
  • Thu: 9 - 7
  • Fri: 9 - 5

See calendar for special dates.

Databases & Software

  • Ancestry.com (Library version)
  • Heritage Quest
  • Footnote.com
  • AmericanAncestors.org
  • Godfrey Memorial Library
  • US Civil War Research Database
  • US Civil War Letters and Diaries
  • Images of the American Civil War
  • FindMyPast
  • TheGenealogist
  • British Library 19th C Newspapers
  • WorldVitalRecords
  • Pedigree Resource File
  • Personal Ancestral File
  • Family Insight
  • RootsMagic
  • Ancestral Quest
  • Legacy

Description of some of the above databases

Footnote is a subscription-based website that features searchable,
original documents that provide users a view of the events, places and people
that shaped the American nation and the world. The site will have over 25
million digital images by the end of 2007. Footnote is currently working with
FamilySearch to index the American Revolutionary War Pension files. Additional
projects with FamilySearch are under development.

Individuals with Footnote subscriptions will be able to sign in with the
same Footnote username and password they use at home in order to save, annotate,
and upload content.

Godfrey Memorial Library has an extensive collection of essential
resources to assist genealogical and historical research. Resources include
newspapers, city and business directories, vital records, printed census
records, state, county, and local histories, as well as numerous family
histories, family bible records, and service and pension records.

Heritage Quest online includes the complete set of U.S. Federal Census
images from 1790 to 1930 including names and indexes for many of the sets. Users
will be able to find people and places located in over 20,000 published family
and local histories and PERSI, an index of over 1.9 million genealogy and local
history articles. Other online databases include Revolutionary War Pension,
Bounty-Land Warrant Application files, and the Freedman Bank Records.

Access to this service will be limited to 1,400 family history centers in
North America. Patrons should contact their local family history center to see
if this service is available. Family history center directors should contact
Family History Center Support with questions.

World Vital Records provides access to research helps and has a wide
variety of international records, including more than 60 parish registers,
Scottish death records, UK marriages, and Irish prisoner records. There are more
than 300 newspapers with 100,000 pages added a month, and over 500 online
databases, including vital, military, land, pension records, reference
materials, family histories, maps, gazetteers, and international coops. With the
recent Quintin Publications partnership, World Vital Records will soon have more
than 10,000 databases online. At least one new database is added every business
day.

Online Training

Useful Links


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 August 2014, at 17:29.
  • This page has been accessed 12,253 times.