Orleans County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Orleans County Vermont genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Orleans County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Orleans County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Orleans County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded October 5, 1792
County Seat Newport
Courthouse
Address Orleans County Courthouse
83 Main Street, Newport, VT 05855-1214
802-334-3344, 802-334-2711
Fax: 802-334-3385
Orleans County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records; District Probate Court has probate records; County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1800

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Barton 1789,
Craftsbury 1781,
Derby 1779,
Glover 1783,
Greensboro 1781,
Holland 1779,
Jay 1792,
Westfield 1780[1]

History

Parent County

  • Created 5 November 1792 from Orange County. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontQuebecOrleans CountyFranklin CountyLamoille CountyWashington CountyCaledonia CountyEssex CountyJayWestfieldLowellTroyNewport TownCoventryIrasburgAlbanyCraftsburyGreensboroGloverBartonBrowningtonNewport CityDerbyHollandMorganCharlestonWestmoreRichfordEnosburgMontgomeryBelvidereEdenJohnsonHyde ParkMorristownStoweWolcottElmoreWorcesterWoodburyCabotHardwickWaldenDanvilleStannardWheelockSheffieldSuttonLyndonKirbyBurkeNewarkVictoryGranbyEast HavenFerdinandBrightonLewisAvery's GoreWarren GoreWarner's GrantNortonAbercornSuttonPottonStanstead TwpOgdenStansteadStanstead-EstBarnston-QuestCoaticookDixville
Modern town borders in Orleans County, Vermont.

City:

Towns:

Extinct Town:

Villages:

  • Albany
  • Barton
  • Derby Center
  • Derby Line
  • North Troy
  • Orleans

Community:

  • Beebe Plain

Neighboring Counties

Caledonia | Essex | Franklin | Lamoille | Quebec counties: Brome | Missisquoi | Stanstead

Resources

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Vtorleans.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company D

Newspapers

Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont <a title="Vermont Birth Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/birth_form.aspx" target="_blank">Birth Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Marriage Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/marriage_form.aspx" target="_blank">Marriage Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Divorce Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/divorce_form.aspx" target="_blank">Divorce Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Death Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/deathcert_form.aspx" target="_blank">Death Certificate</a> Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orleans County, Vermont. Page 699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 August 2014, at 16:40.
  • This page has been accessed 4,654 times.