Orleans Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Louisiana
Orleans Parish
Guide to New Orleans and Orleans Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Orleans Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Louisiana | |||||||||
![]() Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | April 10, 1805 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | New Orleans | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | 421 Loyola Avenue New Orleans, LA 70112 | ||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents
|
Quick Dates
| See also New Orleans. |
Orleans Parish's civil records start the following years:
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1708 | 1810 | 1832 | 1805 |
Parish Courthouse
Orleans Parish Courthouse
421 Loyola Avenue, Room 402
New Orleans, Louisiana 70112
Phone: (504) 592-9100
Fax: (504) 592-9128
Chief Deputy: (504) 592-9118
Clerk of Civil District Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1805.
Public Library has voter registration records, 1895-1941, city directories from 1805, and precinct books 1895-1952.[1]
History
New Orleans was founded about 1718 by Jean-Baptiste LeMoyne, Sieur de Bienville, then governor of the French Louisiana colony, who named the settlement for Philippe II, Duc d'Orléans, then regent of France. In 1722 the town was made the capital of the colony. Following the partition of Louisiana between England and Spain in 1762-1763, New Orleans (called Nouvelle-Orléans) became the capital of Spanish Louisiana. The French citizens revolted against Spain and expelled the Spanish governor in 1768. The revolt was short-lived, however, and a show of force in 1769 reestablished Spanish rule. New Orleans was ceded secretly to France in 1800, and in the space of only twenty days (November 30-December 20, 1803) it was formally ceded first to France and then, by the terms of the Louisana Purchase, to the United States. Under American enterprise, development of the city was rapid.
Parent Parish
Orleans Parish was created 10 April 1805 as an original parish.
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Orleans Parish boundary changes.
Places / Localities
| |||||||||||||
Resources
African American
- Slave and Free People of Color Baptismal Records in the Archives 1777-1801, available online, courtesy: Office of Archives: Archdiocese of New Orleans.[2]
- African American Resource Center - a reference division of the New Orleans Public Library
Cemeteries of Orleans Parish
- ePodunk
- Find A Grave
- Grave Addiction
- la-cemeteries.com
- Louisiana Cemetery Preservation Wiki
- Louisiana Gravestone Photo Project
- Louisiana Tombstone Transcription Project
- Index of Orleans Parish cemeteries on usgwarchives.net
- The USGenWeb Archives Project - Cemetery and Burial Records
- Orleans Parish on Interment.net
Specific Cemeteries
Lafayette Cemetery Number 1, New Orleans BillionGraves
Census Records
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1769 | 3,190 | — |
| 1785 | 4,980 | 56.1% |
| 1788 | 5,331 | 7.0% |
| 1797 | 8,056 | 51.1% |
| 1810 | 17,242 | 114.0% |
| 1820 | 27,176 | 57.6% |
| 1830 | 46,082 | 69.6% |
| 1840 | 102,193 | 121.8% |
| 1850 | 116,375 | 13.9% |
| 1860 | 168,675 | 44.9% |
| 1870 | 191,418 | 13.5% |
| 1880 | 216,090 | 12.9% |
| 1890 | 242,039 | 12.0% |
| 1900 | 287,104 | 18.6% |
| 1910 | 339,075 | 18.1% |
| 1920 | 387,219 | 14.2% |
| 1930 | 458,762 | 18.5% |
| 1940 | 494,537 | 7.8% |
| 1950 | 570,445 | 15.3% |
| 1960 | 627,525 | 10.0% |
| 1970 | 593,471 | −5.4% |
| 1980 | 557,515 | −6.1% |
| 1990 | 496,938 | −10.9% |
| 2000 | 484,674 | −2.5% |
| 2010 | 343,829 | −29.1% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
Church
- Orleans Parish Genealogy - Churches
- NewOrleansChurches.com - an historical photo album of historic places of worship in the New Orleans area.
- German Churches of New Orleans - an inventory of records
Catholic
Episcopal
Mt. Olivet Church, Algiers
Baptism
- 1857-1937 - Mt. Olivet Church, Algiers, Baptism Index 1857-1937. Batch C726201 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
- 1858-1905 - Mt. Olivet Church, Algiers, Marriage Index 1858-1905. Batch M726201 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Court
- Digging Up Roots in the Mud Files: Sources for Family History Research in the Orleans Parish Civil Court Records
- Finding Aids, Inventories and Indexes for Orleans Parish Civil & Criminal Courts
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Louisiana, Orleans Court Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Directories
- Fold3.com ($) has New Orleans City Directories 1861 and 1866-1923 (3 yrs. missing) available online.
Land
Registrar of Conveyances
1340 Poydras Street
4th Floor
New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone: (504) 592-9170
Fax: (504) 523-4320
Email: daleatk@orleanscdc.com
Registrar of Conveyances has records of all transfers of real estate dating back to 1827.
- Guide to Genealogical Materials in the New Orleans Public Library's Louisiana Division & City Archives - Land records
- Interactive Search of Louisiana Land Records - interface to the pre-1908 Homestead and Cash Entry Patents from the Bureau of Land Management's General Land Office Automated Records Project
- New Orleans Notarial Archives - government agency that files and maintains land records and other contracts recorded in Orleans Parish.
Local Histories
The Historical Marker Database: Orleans Parish Markers - Photos, inscriptions and maps of historical markers in Orleans Parish
- History.com: New Orleans
- LouisianaTravel.com: Historical stories of Louisiana
- Navy History and Heritage: Orleans Parish
Maps
- Maps of Orleans Parish (with links to districts for neighborhood level data)
- Louisiana Parish Maps on Censusfinder.com - links to map of 1788 New Orleans Fire; 1798 plan of the City of New Orleans showing plantation ownership; 1819 map of New Orleans showing plantation owners; 1908 and 1924 New Orleans maps; Orleans Parish Cemetery maps.
- USGenWeb Archives Project - Maps of Orleans Parish
- Linkpendium - Orleans Parish Maps and Gazetteers
- zipmap.net- Google Map with an overlay of Zip Codes for Orleans Parish
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Orleans Parish.
- April 25–May 1, 1862 = New Orleans[4]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.
- Guide to Genealogical Records in the New Orleans Public Library's Louisiana Division & City Archives - Military Records
- Linkpendium - Orleans Parish Military Records and Histories
- USGenWeb Archives Project - Orleans Parish War and Military Records
Newspapers
- New Orleans Times Picayune
- Times Picayune Orleans Parish Obit Index - a project of USGenWeb Archives
- Chronicling America - Orleans Parish - Directory of Orleans Parish newspapers, Library of Congress website. The site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Louisiana Biography & Obituary Index
Probate
- General Index of all Orleans Parish Successions, 1805-1846 - (New Orleans Public Library City Archives)
- Louisiana, Orleans Parish Estate Files, 1804-1846 has a name index and images of probate estate files. Each estate file consists of multiple images.The event date is the probate date. Description.
Taxation
Vital Records
Louisiana Vital Records
1450 Poydras Avenue
New Orleans, Louisiana 70113
Information: (504) 593-5100
Marriage Licenses: (504) 593-5116
Orleans Parish began keeping marriage records in 1718.
- New Orleans Marriage Records
- USGenWeb Archives Project Yellow Fever Death Records - Lists of Interments in New Orleans cemeteries, 1828-1878
- Louisiana Vital Records - Searchable databases to help locate records maintained by the Louisiana Secretary of State (Louisiana death records, Orleans Parish birth records and Orleans Parish marriage records)
- Vital Records Registry, Louisiana - For information on Louisiana birth records (less than 100 years old), death records (less than 50 years old), and Orleans Parish marriage records (less than 50 years old).
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Louisiana, Orleans Parish Vital Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Societies and Libraries
Societies
- Algiers Historical Society: The organization is devoted to researching the history of Algiers and its people. Membership is $10 per year. For more information, emailor call Kevin Herridge at (504) 367-8461.
- Genealogical Research Society of New Orleans - The organization was established in 1960 to foster an interest in family research and to encourage preservation of genealogical records in New Orleans, in Louisiana and the Gulf Coast.
- The Jewish Genealogical Society (JGS) of New Orleans - The JGS is a non-profit organization for those who desire to research their Jewish roots in Louisiana and worldwide.
- Louisiana Historical Society - Founded in 1835, the Louisiana Historical Society is the oldest historical organization in the state.
- La Creole Research Association - a New Orleans based non-profit family research organization dedicated to the study of the history and culture of the Creoles of Color of Louisiana through ancestral research, education, and celebration.
Libraries
- Libraries, Museums and Archives Links on Linkpendium
- Guide to Genealogical Materials in the New Orleans Public Library's Louisiana Division & City Archives
Family History Centers
Websites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Family History 101 - History, records, facts, genealogy and ancestry links
- Orleans Parish Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Orleans Parish Genealogy Forum
- Orleans Parish Genealogy on Genealogylinks.net
- USGenWeb Archives Project - Orleans Parish - lots of information from the New Orleans Volunteer Association
- ePodunk - Orleans Parish Ancestry and Family History
- Orleans Parish Genealogy (Louisiana Genealogy)
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Louisiana, Orleans Parish Estate Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Louisiana, New Orleans Passenger Listls (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Louisiana, Orleans Parish Second District Judicial Court Case Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Thanks to the Orleans Parish Contributors
Anyone can be a contributor. Contributors are people who write and edit the pages for FamilySearch Wiki. Thanks to the following contributors for helping to build this page (in alpha order). Help grow the wiki and add content today!
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed.Orleans Parish, Louisiana p291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Dick Eastman, "New Orleans Archdiocese Publishes Online Baptism, Marriage Records of Slaves," Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter, 1 February 2011.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/c2/Igilouisiana.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 March 2013, at 18:43.
- This page has been accessed 5,798 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




