Ormesby, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Ormesby

Guide to Ormesby, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ormesby, Yorkshire
Ormesby St Cuthbert Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Guisborough PLU
Registration District Guisbrough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ormesby St Cuthbert is an Ancient parish in Cleveland in the North riding of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Upsall near Guisbrough, Upsil, Cargo Fleet, Cleveland Port, Upsall, Morton near Stokesley, Normanby, Normanby near Guisbrough, and Morton.

ORMESBY (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Guisborough, partly in the E., and partly in the W., division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 7 miles (E. by S.) from Stockton; containing, with the chapelry of Eston, and the townships of Morton, Normanby, and Upsall, 851 inhabitants, of whom 383 are in Ormesby township. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Ormesby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
ORMESBY PARISH (1701) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1800-1989 1800-1989
FS 1624-1888

1701-1882

None

JOIN None

1703-1837

None

NBI

1600-1684, 1695-1936

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of **PARISH NAME** to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the **PARISH NAME/link** PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.

Poor Law Unions

Guisborough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire Middlesbrough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire from 1876

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 479-483. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' FindMyPast, accessed 13 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 October 2014, at 17:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,647 times.