Ormesby St Margaret with Scratby, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Ormesby St Margaret with Scratby, Norfolk
Ormesby St Margaret.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg PLU
Registration District Flegg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ORMSBY (St. Margaret), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of East Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (N. by W.) from Yarmouth. The living is a discharged vicarage, with that of St. Michael and that of Scratby. The Baptists and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]


Ormesby St Margaret with Scratby is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the Diocese of Norwich. The Ecclesiastical parish was created about 1600 from the Ancient parishes of Ormesby St Andrew Ancient Parish and Ormesby St Peter Ancient Parish. The parish includes Scratby and California.

California owes its name to the discovery of some 16th-century gold coins on the beach in 1848, at a time when the California gold rush had captured the attention of the world.

Thomas Webster (1631-1715), who was born in Ormesby St. Margaret and eventually settled in New Hampshire, was the great-great-grandfather of the prominent 19th Century American politician Daniel Webster.

Scratby Hall, the country house of John Ramey, was occupied by his daughter, the Dowager Countess of Home, until her death in 1814. The house was originally built by John Fisher, Esq. John Ramey, Esq., an attorney, then barrister, retired to Scratby Hall, where he died in 1796. From 1949 to the mid 1980's, the home and estate served as Duncan Hall School.

A Norman church stood on the site but extensive restoration in the 1860's has produced the present church.

Ormesby St Margaret should not be mistaken for the village of Ormesby St Michael, Norfolk which neighbours it to the west.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
  • Acle 1938-1974
  • Norwich Outer
  • Norwich

Church records

Ormesby St Margaret with Scratby, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Ormesby St Margaret with Scratby, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1601-1837

FREG 1603-1900
1603-1919
1603-1904
FS PRs Undefined 1675-1901 Undefined 1675-1919 Undefined 1675-1904
JOIN
1601-1837

NTA 1787-1869
1813-1837
1787-1867
PALL
1790-1837

TIN 1813-1880


A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Archdeacons transcripts, 1600-1812 Church of England. Parish Church of Ormsby-St. Margaret
Church of England. Parish Church of Scratby

Content Film
Baptisms and burials 1600-1610?, 1623?-1636, 1669-1751, 1761-1812 Marriages 1601-1610?, 1623?-1636, 1672-1750, 1761-1812 FHL BRITISH Film
1526797 Item 6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 479-483. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  6. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,236 times.