Ormesby St Michael, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Ormesby St Michael, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ormesby St Michael, Norfolk
Ormesby St Michael.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg PLU
Registration District Flegg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ORMSBY (St. Michael), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of East Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 6 miles (N. N. W.) from Yarmouth. [1]

Ormesby St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich. It is sometimes referred to as Little Ormesby.

The church is one of the three Ormesby churches and the larger church and ecclesiastical parish of Ormesby St Margaret with Scratby, Norfolk grew from this ancient parish and that of now lost round towered church of Ormesby St Peter.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
  • Acle 1938-1974
  • Norwich Outer
  • Norwich

Church records

Ormesby St Michael, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Ormesby St Michael, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1591-1837

FREG 1580-1903
1602-1742
1587-1812
FS PRs Undefined 1568-1773, 1786-1919 Undefined 1568-1773, 1786-1902 Undefined 1568-1773, 1787-1812
JOIN
1591-1836

PALL
1790-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 479-483. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 981 times.