Ormskirk, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ormskirk, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is List of Chapelries in Ormskirk Parish

Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk Parish Church.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ormskirk PLU
Registration District Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Meols
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

ORMSKIRK (St Peter and St Paul), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire; containing, with the chapelry of Skelmersdale, and the townships of Bickerstaffe, Burscough, Lathom, and Scarisbrick, 13 miles north by northeast of Liverpool. Another church was erected here in 1848; and at Bickerstaffe, Burscough, Lathom, and Skelmersdale are also chapels. There are places of worship for Independents, Unitarians, and Wesleyans; also a Roman Catholic chapel, built about a century ago, and dedicated to St. Oswald.[1]

Contents

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Ormskirk St Peter & St Paul's parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
MOCO = Mocavo.com
ORMSKIRK ST PETER & ST PAUL PARISH (1557) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1557-1837 1557-1836  None
LOPC 1557-1901 1557-1911  1557-1906
MOCO 1557-1624 1557-1624 1557-1624
JOIN 1813-1837
LBMD 1837-1955
AC 1557-1626 1557-1626 1557-1626
FREG 1557-1901 var. yrs 1557-1901 var. yrs 1557-1901 var.yrs
BICKERSTAFFE HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None 1875-1877 None
LOPC None None 1843-1866
LBMD 1837-1929 1844-1956 1837-1929
FREG None None 1844-1868
BURSCOUGH ST JOHN Chapelry (1848) Indexes
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1848-1952 None
LATHAM PARK CHAPEL Chapelry (1929) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1929-1957 None
SCARISBRICK ST MARK Chapelry (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1853-1900 1870-1900 1855-1901
LOPC 1853-1900 1870-1900 1855-1900
LBMD 1837-1907 1870-1952 1837-1907
AC 1853-1894 1870-1900 None
SKELMERSDALE ST PAUL Chapelry (1817) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1817-1900 1858-1900 1887-1900
LOPC 1833-1900 1858-1900 1822-1876
LBMD 1918-1950 1858-1959 1918-1952

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306902.


Poor Law Unions

Ormskirk Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 479-483. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
The Ormskirk and District Family History Society

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 4,425 times.