Orpington, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Orpington, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Orpington, Kent
Orpington All Saints Kent.jpg
Orpington All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ruxley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bromley PLU
Registration District Bromley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Orpington is a suburban town in the London Borough of Bromley Orpington Wikipedia

Orpington All Saints is an Ancient Parish. Chapelries of the Ancient parish include Downe, Kent St Mary Cray, Kent and Knockholt, Kent

The church was enlargeded in 1957 by adding "The new Church" at right angles to the ancient original mediaeval chancel and thus changing the orientation of the interior.

The original Saxon material is still visible in the mediaeval walls. The tower and steeple were damaged by a storm in 1771 and the rebuilt steeple was truck by lightning in 1809 and was not replaced.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 97-112. 9 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Orpington North West Kent Family History Society and Orpington All Saints

Other Anglican parishes formed from the Ancient Parish include

Orpington St Andrew Lower Road

St Paul Crofton Road built as a chapel-of-ease to All Saints in 1887 and formed as an ecclesiastical parish.

Orpington Christ Church, Charterhouse Road, see Kent Churches website

Holy Innocents Roman Catholic church. The modern replacement for the original built in 1894

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Station Approach

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis--
ORPINGTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bromley, hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-atHone, W. division of Kent, 3 miles (S. by W.) from Foot's-Cray. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

See Bromley Registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Orpington, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
LBUR = London Burials Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Orpington, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1816, 1850-1851, 1857, 1898
1813-1821

BOYD
1727

FREG 1560-1812
1560-1754
1560-1812
FS BTs 1813-1898 1813-1898 1813-1898
FS PRs 1560-1876 1560-1876 1560-1876
IGI 1560-1875 1560-1876
LBUR 1703-1747

International Genealogical Index Batch Numbers

Deposited Parish registers are held at Bromley Archives reference P 277 1560-1937

Bromley Central Library
Telephone: 020 8461 7170
Fax: 020 8466 7860
e-mail: localstudies.library@bromley.gov.uk

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Nonconformists

International Genealogical Index

  • Old Baptist Meeting 1650-1815 (Births) Batch (C098531)

Land Tax

Images for Orpington are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831


Census records

Census returns for Orpington 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

In the Orpington Vestry minutes P277/8/2 1808-1847 held at Bromley Public Libraries, Local Studies and Archives there is both reference to the purchase of clothing for poor from interest on parish stock in1814 with the parish giving up possession of poor house, 1815 and establishing a joint workhouse with St. Mary Cray, Orpington parish providing £900, 1815-1816.
At about this time the St Mary Cray burial register shows burials from St Mary Cray Poor House.
The Orpington Vestry Minutes of 3 March 1816 refer to the workhouse to be built on land "near Reynoldsmiths in the parish of St Mary Cray".

Reynolds Smith was a hamlet in St Mary Cray parish close to the parish boundary with Orpington parish and also contained the Red Lion public house.

The workhouse and garden appear as item 46 on the St Mary Cray Tithe Map 1839/40 and the Occupier appears as Samuel Chinock, presumably the master.

See also the St Mary Cray Poor House paragraph in the Bromley Poor Law Union page.

It appears from the vestry Minutes that the larger group of able bodied paupers were from Orpington parish and a Vestry meeting resoved to use these men to repair defective roads in Orpington.

It is worth examining the St Mary Cray burial transcript at Kent Online Parish Clerks if you believe prior to 1844 that an Orpington ancestor may have received parish poor relief and have died in the parish Poor House. From 1844 the Union Workhouse at Locksbottom usually arranged burial in the parish of origin where known on admission; otherwise burials were at Farnborough, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 483-486. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only (4 entries).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 4,139 times.