Osmotherley, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Osmotherley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Northallerton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1696|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Durham and the Dean and Chapter of Allerton and Allertonshire Post-1835 - Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Osmotherley St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Harlsey Castle, Harsley Castle, Foxton, West Harlsey, Ellerbeck, and Thimbleby.
OSMOTHERLEY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Northallerton, wapentake of Allertonshire, N. riding of York, 7 miles (E. N. E.) from Northallerton. Here are places of worship for Quakers, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Osmotherley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|OSMOTHERLEY PARISH (1666) Online Records|
|| 1666, 1783
||1696-1717, 1720-1931|| |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Durham Bishop's transcripts for the parish may be searched free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.See also Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections
Parish Register Transcripts Osmotherley Yorkshire
- March [? 1660]-March 
- [April 1668]-April 1669 this is a photocopy of the [April 1668]-April 1669 transcript the original being held elsewhere as noted on the photocopy. The original is held at the Borthwick Institute York but their reference is not shown on their photocopy.
- 1697-[?February 1698]
- [March 1712-March 1713]
- [March] 1714-[March 1715]
- [March] 1718-[March 1719]
- [March 1721- March 1722]
- [March] 1726-[March 1727]
- March 1759-March 1760
- March 1760-1812
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464227.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 486-491. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
- ↑ 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 19:49.
- This page has been accessed 2,385 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News