Ossett cum GawthorpeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Ossett cum Gawthorpe

Guide to Ossett cum Gawthorpe, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ossett cum Gawthorpe
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Dewsbury PLU
Registration District Dewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1792
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OSSETT, with Gawthorpe, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Dewsbury, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 3½ miles (W. ) from Wakefield. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Ossett cum Gawthorpe exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS = FamilySearch.org
OSSETT CUM GAWTHORPE CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1792-1812 1792-1812 1792-1812 1792-1812 1792-1812 1792-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1859-1935 1859-1935 1813-1985 1813-1985
BIVRI 1765-1786


FREG 1813-1818
FS 1813-1910

1859-1906

1861-1886

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of **Parish** to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ***Parish*** page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464239.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 486-491. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  4. 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  5. 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.
  6. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
  7. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,199 times.