Ossington, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ossington, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Ossington Holy Rood Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell PLU|
|Parish registers: 1594|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1812|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
OSSINGTON (Holy Rood), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (S. S. E.) from Tuxford.
Ossington Holy Rood is an Ancient Parish in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of this church and parish Ossington Holy Rood
The Estate church of Holy Rood has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Ossington Wikipedia
During the Second World War RAF Ossington was used by Bomber Command and as an advanced flying field; Ossington Hall formed part of the accommodation for the RAF station.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ossington Holy Rood parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|OSSINGTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1594-1979 Marriages 1600-1900 Burials 1594-1903Bishop’s Transcripts 1812-1825
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ossington
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 19 February 2015, at 23:06.
- This page has been accessed 1,181 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More