Oswaldtwistle, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Oswaldtwistle, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

OSWALDTWISTLE (Emmanuel), a township, in the parochial chapelry of Church, parish of Whalley, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 3¾ miles (E. by S.) from Blackburn. The chapelry was created in 1837. The dissenters have several places of worship; and there are various schools.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Oswaldtwistle chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


OSWALDTWISTLE IMMANUEL Chapelry  (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1837-1898 1840-1900 1837-1891
LOPC 1837-1898 1840-1900 1837-1868
LBMD 1837-1974 1877-2004 1837-1974
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS(ancient parish containing OSWALDTWISTLE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Oswaldtwistle and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306898.

Genealogy

Parkinson of Oswaldtwistle and New Zealand by Todd, Andrew A. History and pedigree of William Parkinson and Jane Birtwell, dating from 1804-1922,  a branch of which went to New Zealand in July 1913.   Other surnames listed are Duckworth, Hindle, Green, Hook, and Kay. Article to be found in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 7 no.3, pages 37-42, Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r vol. 7.

 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 486-491. Date accessed 22 October 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 August 2014, at 15:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,577 times.