Oswestry, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

A guide to genealogy in Oswestry, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Oswestry (Welsh: Croesoswallt) is a town of Shropshire, England. It is a former historic market town and stands on the border with Wales.

Oswestry, Shropshire
An historic image of Oswestry
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswestry
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Oswestry PLU
Registration District Oswestry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oswestry
Diocese St Asaph
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

‎In 1887: "Oswestry.-- mun. bor., market town, and par., Shropshire, 18 miles NW. of Shrewsbury and 172 miles from London by rail - par., 16,234 ac., pop. 11,923; bor., 1888 ac., pop. 7847; P.O., T.O., 2 Banks, 2 newspapers. Market-days, Wednesday and Saturday. One of the chief towns on the Welsh border, Oswestry is a place of ancient British origin. ... Trade in Oswestry is mainly connected with malting and the exportation of agricultural produce".[1] The town of Oswestry sits on the border between England and Wales and, at various times, been in both countries.

Historically the parish of Oswestry formed part of the Welsh Diocese of St. Asaph. However, following the disestablishment of the Anglican Church in Wales on 31 March 1920, it was transferred to the English Diocese of Lichfield.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oswestry parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
OSWESTRY PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1558-1669
1558-1669
1558-1669
IARC 1669-1750
1669-1750
1669-1750
IGI 1558-1860 1558-1837
JOIN
1558-1812

MLOC 1558-1669
1558-1669
1558-1669
MLOC 1669-1727
1669-1727
1669-1750
MLOC 1727-1812
1727-1754

MLOC
1755-1812
1751-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1860 Marr 1662-1837 Bur 1662-1860

Moreton (Oswestry) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Moreton (Oswestry) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474586.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Oswestry/index.html

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 August 2014, at 18:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,522 times.