Otford, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  KentGotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Otford, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Otford, Kent
Otford St Bartholomew Kent.jpg
Otford St Bartholomew Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Codsheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1555
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Otford is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent. Otford Wikipedia

Otford St Bartholomew was initially formed as a chapelry in neighbouring Shoreham, Kent Ancient parish and became an Ecclesiastical parish from 1723 and included Dunton Green within the parish boundary. A map of the subsequent  parish boundary may be viewed at A church near you

The church of St Bartholomew Otford has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 19-31 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Otford North West Kent Family History Society which includes other Anglican churches and places of worship in the Otford area and Otford St Bartholomew

Dunton Green St John the Divine was formed from this parish. Dunton Green St John the DivineKent Churches website

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis--
OTFORD (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Codsheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 3 miles (N.) from Seven-Oaks. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Both Otford and Dunton Green were originally in Sevenoaks registration district Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941;see Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Otford, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Otford, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1813-1844 1813-1844 1813-1844
FS PRs 1754-1836 (banns) 1560-1618

Census records

Census returns for Otford 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within reach of the Sevenoaks district, located adjacent to Orpington Station.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 486-491. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:56.
  • This page has been accessed 2,113 times.