Otoe County, NebraskaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nebraska
Otoe County
Otoe County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Otoe County, Nebraska | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Nebraska | |
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska Location of Nebraska in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 23, 1854 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Nebraska City |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Otoe County Courthouse 1021 Central Ave. P.O. Box 249 Nebraska City, Nebraska 68410-0249 Phone: 402.873.9505 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Otoe County Courthouse
1021 Central Ave; PO Box 249
Nebraska City, NE 68410-0249
Phone: 402.873.9505
County Clerk has marriage, divorce and court records.
County Judge has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1904 | 1855 | 1904 | 1854 | 1855 | 1855 |
History
Parent County
1854--Otoe County was created 23 November 1854 from Cass and Pierce(old) Counties. County seat: Nebraska City [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
A list of cemeteries of Otoe County is available on the county's GenWeb site, with links to transcripts and photographs of tombstones for some of those cemeteries.
Census
For tips on accessing Otoe County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Otoe County, Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:
- Missouri River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5]
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Otoe County, Nebraska page 433, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
| This Nebraska-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 February 2013, at 15:01.
- This page has been accessed 1,513 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
