Ottawa County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Ottawa County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Ottawa County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Ottawa County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Ottawa County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 27, 1860
County Seat Minneapolis
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Ottawa County Courthouse
307 N. Concord Street
Minneapolis, Kansas 67467-2140
Phone: 785.392.2279

Contents

County Courthouse

Ottawa County Courthouse
307 N Concord
Minneapolis, KS 67467
Phone: 785.392.2279

County clerk has marriage, divorce and probate records.
City Officers have birth records from 1911 and death records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1860--Ottawa County was created 27 February 1860 from unorganized territory. County seat: Minneapolis [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksottawa.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ottawa County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

During the  Civil War the settlers of Ottawa County were driven out by Indian raids and returned in 1863, but spent their energy in defending themselves against the Indians.  After the war there was an influx of discharged Civil War Veterans coming to take advantage of their soldiers' claims.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ottawa County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Obituary Index for the Minneapolis Messenger 1920-2003.  Index gives the name and death date.  Instructions for ordering a copy are included on the web page. 

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Ottawa and click Probate records.

Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ottawa County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 14:32.
  • This page has been accessed 3,782 times.