Ottawa County, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png Ottawa County

Ottawa County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Ottawa County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Ottawa County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Miami
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Ottawa County Courthouse
102 E. Central
Miami, Oklahoma 74354
Phone: 918.542.3332

Contents

County Courthouse

Ottawa County Courthouse
102 E Central
Miami, OK 74354
Phone: 918.542-3332 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records;
County Clerk has land records from 1890[1]

History

Parent County

1907--Ottawa County was created 16 July 1907 from Indian Territory.
County seat: Miami [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

According to the genealogist at the Miami Public Library there are 107 cemeteries in Ottawa county - most are very small. Contact the library for more information.

Courtesy of 'Oklahoma Cemeteries':

GAR Cemetery, Miami, Ottawa County, OK submitted by Donna Dryer

Census

For tips on accessing Ottawa County, Oklahoma census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Miami

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ottawa County, Oklahoma. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okottawa.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ottawa County, Oklahoma newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • American - newspaper of Fairland, OK. Full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 2006-2009

Probate

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Births
Marriages

Santa Fe New Mexican dated July 27, 1935 - "After masquerading most of her life as a boy, Alice Delores (George) Hayes, 20, Picher, Okla., shoe clerk, was "married" to Margaret Lavernia Fowler, 14 of Galena, Kas. At left the bride in the arms of the "groom". Right, Delores as "George" The marriage was annulled. (Associated Press photos)

Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Miami Public Library has an excellent genealogical connection.

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ottawa County, Oklahoma. Page 561 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:22.
  • This page has been accessed 4,787 times.