Ottenbach parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Ottenbach

Bruggenmoos
Giebel
Grossstein
Grund
Isenberg
Mutmatt

Oberberg
Ottenbach
Rebgarten
Reussbrücke
Rickenbach
Ruchweid

Schüracker
Schürmatt
Staubetebaum
Steinhof
Weid

Surrounding Parishes

Affoltern am Albis
Jonen (Aargau)
Merenschwand (Aargau)
Muri (Aargau)
Obfelden

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Ottenbach:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 693
1634 1185139 1 284
1640 1185143 1 707
1643 1185145 1 647
1646 1185147 2 481
1649 1185149 1 251
1657 1185151 1 521
1657 1185179 1 32
1670 1185153 1 723
1678 1185152 3 835
1682 1185158 3 1
1689 1185164 1 633
1695 1185168 2 215
1708 1185169 2 365
1749 1185176 1 137

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Ottenbach families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Ottenbach belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Ottenbach prior to 1875:

Bär
Berli
Frech (1855)
Frei
Funk
Gampert (1836, from Germany)
Grob
Gut

Häberling
Hegetschweiler
Hug
Lang (from
    Fischbach-Göslikon)
Leutert
Leuthert
Meier

Rusterholz (1802, from
    Schönenberg)
Schneebeli
Schoch
Sidler
Weinmann (1875)
Widler
Wydler

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:36.
  • This page has been accessed 437 times.